Bangladesh opt to bat against SA

2015-07-10 13:33
Tamim Iqbal (Gallo)

Dhaka - Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and elected to bat in the first one day international against South Africa at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Friday.

The match was reduced to a 40-over-a-side game after incessant monsoon rains delayed the start of play for two hours and 40 minutes.

South Africa handed paceman Kagiso Rabada his ODI debut while leaving out squad members Aaron Phangiso, Wayne Parnell, Morne Morkel and Ryan McLaren from the starting line-up.

Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain and Anamul Haque missed out for Bangladesh.

The second and third ODI of the three-match series will be held on July 12 and 15 respectively in Dhaka and Chittagong.


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Litton Das, Jubair Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman.

South Africa: Hashim Amla (captain), Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Farhaan Berhardien, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Chris Morris, Kyle Abbott, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada.

Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG) and Sharfoudoulla Saikat (BAN)

TV Umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match Referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    proteas  |  tamim iqbal  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.