Amla in line for four awards

2013-06-19 10:18
Hashim Amla (Gallo)
Cape Town - Hashim Amla heads the list of nominees for the 2013 Cricket South Africa (CSA) professional awards to be announced at a banquet in Johannesburg on Wednesday, July 3 2013.

The elegant Proteas batsman is one of five nominees for the main award - the South African Cricketer of the Year. The other nominees are one-day international captain AB de Villiers, batsman Faf du Plessis and fast bowlers Vernon Philander and Dale Steyn.

Amla has also been nominated for the Sunfoil Test Cricketer of the Year award, the Momentum One-Day International Cricketer of the Year and the KFC So Good award.

The awards cover the period from May 1, 2012 to April 30, 2013. It was one of the most successful years in South African cricket history, during which the national team became the undisputed number one team in Test cricket with away series wins against England and Australia and home series clean sweeps against New Zealand and Pakistan.

“This has been the most successful year in the history of South African Test match cricket,” commented CSA Acting CEO Naasei Appiah. “The Castle Lager Test squad has become synonymous with sustained excellence and there have also been inspiring performances from many individual players, not to mention the leadership provided by our captain, Graeme Smith.

“This awards ceremony is our ‘Oscar Evening’ for South African professional cricket and I would like to congratulate all the nominees as well as the eventual winners.

“CSA is also very grateful to its eminent panel of judges for the time and dedication they have shown. With so many outstanding performances it could not have been easy for them to make their choices.”

Colin Bryden, convener of the judging panel, commented: “It was an outstanding year for South African cricket and there were many excellent individual performances, particularly in Test matches. The biggest problem for the panel was deciding who to leave out of the final nominations. There were also some impressive performances in franchise cricket.”

The other members of the judging panel were broadcaster Aslam Khota, batting legend Graeme Pollock and recently retired Proteas and Chevrolet Knights fast bowler Victor Mpitsang.

Amla scored 1 321 runs in Tests in the period under review at an average of 82.56, with five centuries and four fifties. He also made 552 runs in one-day internationals at an average of 61.33.

Amla’s feats included the South African Test record score of 311 not out against England at The Oval last year. This innings earned him nomination for the KFC So Good award, which is for a single outstanding achievement.

Amla will face stiff opposition for all four awards. AB de Villiers was outstanding in both Tests and one-day internationals, while Faf du Plessis made a sensational entry into Test cricket with an heroic debut century which saved the second Test against Australia in Adelaide, paving the way for the series win which was clinched in the next Test in Perth.

Steyn and Philander spearheaded South Africa’s fast bowling attack, which was acknowledged as the world’s best. Steyn took 60 Test wickets at an average of 20.26 while Philander claimed 38 wickets at 21.13.

Steyn’s devastating six for eight against Pakistan in Johannesburg and Philander’s five for seven against New Zealand in Cape Town were nominated for the KFC So Good award.

Cricket fans will also have voting powers for two of the Awards on the evening – the Fans Cricketer of the season and the RAM Delivery of the season. Both these awards require fans to vote for their favourite player as well as the best delivery of the season. Details of these awards can be found on or on CSA’s official Facebook page.

The awards will take place at the Sandton Convention Centre and will be televised live on SuperSport 2 from 20:00.

The full list of nominees (in alphabetical order) is:


South African Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn.
Sunfoil Test Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn.
Momentum One-Day International Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Ryan McLaren.
KFC Twenty20 International Cricketer of the Year: Henry Davids, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn.
KFC So Good Award: Hashim Amla, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn.
Momentum Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Dané van Niekerk.


Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins), Johann Louw (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Stiaan van Zyl (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras).
Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Stephen Cook (bizhub Highveld Lions), Richard Levi (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Hardus Viljoen (bizhub Highveld Lions).
RAM SLAM Challenge Cricketer of the Season: Quinton de Kock (bizhub Highveld Lions), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Hardus Viljoen (bizhub Highveld Lions).
CSA Coach of the Year: Paul Adams (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Piet Botha (Chevrolet Warriors), Geoffrey Toyana (bizhub Highveld Lions).
CSA Umpire of the Year: Johan Cloete, Shaun George, Adrian Holdstock.

Read more on:    csa  |  hashim amla  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Sunday, 23 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Port Elizabeth 14:30
Wednesday, 26 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Cape Town 18:00
Saturday, 29 February 2020
South Africa v Australia, , Paarl 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming Proteas v Australia three-match T20 series?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.