Amla, Kallis top SA nominees

2010-08-18 16:34
Hashim Amla (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - South Africa's Cricketer of the Year Hashim Amla and all-rounder Jacques Kallis are among eight players nominated in three categories for the International Cricket Council (ICC) awards. The winners will be announced in Bangalore, India on October 6.

The other six players nominated in three categories are Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag from India, Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger from Australia and Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene.

This year's awards includes nine individual prizes and also features the selection of the Test and ODI Teams of the Year and the award to the side that has adhered most to the Spirit of Cricket.

For the first time, this year's awards feature a new category, the People's Choice Award, which will be chosen by cricket fans around the world who will get a chance to vote for their favourite player online from five candidates.

"The LG ICC Awards are an opportunity for the ICC and the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA) to acknowledge and celebrate the remarkable performances of the world's top players," said ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat.

"It is also a chance for followers of our great sport to reflect on some of the great cricketing feats they have witnessed over the past year. This will be the seventh time the awards have been handed out and picking the winners will not be an easy task for the voting academy."

The long lists of nominations were made by a five-man ICC selection panel chaired by former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee, Clive Lloyd. The panel also includes former international players Angus Fraser of England, Matthew Hayden of Australia, Ravi Shastri of India and Zimbabwe's Duncan Fletcher.

The award winners will be chosen based on performances between August 24 2009 and August 10 2010.

South African award nominees:

Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, AB de Villiers

Test Player of the Year: Hashim Amla (SA), Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers

Emerging Player of the Year: Wayne Parnell

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Ryan McLaren - 3-0-19-5 v West Indies, North Stand, May 19 2010

Umpire of the Year: Marais Erasmus, Rudi Koertzen


Long-lists of nominees (in alphabetical order; each category will be reduced to a short-list in due course)

Individual Awards

Cricketer of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Michael Clarke (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Ryan Harris (Aus)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Morne Morkel (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Shane Watson (Aus)

Test Player of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
James Anderson (Eng)
Mohammad Asif (Pak)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Tamim Iqbal (BD)
Mahela Jayawardena (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Simon Katich (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Thilan Samaraweera (SL)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Shane Watson (Aus)

ODI Player of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Tillekeratne Dilshan (SL)
Ryan Harris (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Shane Watson (Aus)
Cameron White (Aus)

Emerging Player of the Year

Mohammad Amir (Pak)
Umar Akmal (Pak)
Tim Bresnan (Eng)
Steven Finn (Eng)
Shafiul Islam (BD)
Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)
Virat Kohli (Ind)
Angelo Mathews (SL)
Eoin Morgan (Eng)
Pragyan Ojha (Ind)
Tim Paine (Aus)
Wayne Parnell (SA)
Kemar Roach (WI)
Steven Smith (Aus)
Paul Stirling (Ire)
David Warner (Aus)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year

Ashish Bagai (Can)
Richie Berrington (Scot)
Muddassar Bukhari (Scot)
Tom Cooper (Neth)
Ryan ten Doeschate (Neth)
Trent Johnston (Ire)
Kevin O’Brien (Ire)
Mohammad Shahzad (Afg)
Samiullah Shenwari (Afg)
Paul Stirling (Ire)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Suleiman Benn (WI) – 4-2-6-4 v Zimbabwe, Port of Spain, 28 Feb 2010
Deandra Dottin (WI Women) – 112 not out (45b, 7x4, 9x6) v South Africa Women, Basseterra, 5 May 2010
Chris Gayle (WI) – 98 (66b, 5x4, 7x6) v India, Bridgetown, 9 May 2010
Michael Hussey (Aus) – 60 not out (24b, 3x4, 5x6) v Pakistan, St Lucia, 14 May 2010
Mahela Jayawardena (SL) – 100 (64b, 10x4 4x6) v Zimbabwe, Guyana, 3 May 2010
Mahela Jayawardena (SL) – 98 not out (56b 9x4, 4x6) v West Indies, Bridgetown, 7 May 2010
Nuwan Kulasekera (SL) – 3-1-4-3 v New Zealand, Lauderhill, 23 May 2010
Ryan McLaren (SA) – 3-0-19-5 v West Indies, North Stand, 19 May 2010
Brendon McMcllum (NZ) – 116 not out (56b, 12x4, 8x6) v Australia, Christchurch, 28 Feb 2010
Eoin Morgan (Eng) – 85 not out (45b, 7x4, 5x6) v South Africa, Johannesburg, 13 Nov 2009
Nehemiah Odhiambo (Zim) – 4-0-20-5 v Scotland, Nairobi, 4 Feb 2010
Ellyse Perry (Aus Women) – 4-0-18-3 v New Zealand Women, Barbados, 16 May 2010
Suresh Raina (Ind) – 101 (60b, 9x4, 5x6) v South Africa, St Lucia, 2 May 2010
Darren Sammy (WI) – 3.5-0-26-5 v Zimbabwe, Port of Spain, 28 Feb 2010

Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Suzie Bates (NZ)
Nicola Browne (NZ)
Katherine Brunt (Eng)
Sophie Devine (NZ)
Jhulan Goswami (Ind)
Lydia Greenway (Eng)
Sarah McGlashan (NZ)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Ellyse Perry (Aus)
Laura Poulton (Aus)
Mithali Raj (Ind)
Gouher Sultana (Ind)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Umpire of the Year

Billy Bowden
Aleem Dar
Steve Davis
Asoke de Silva
Billy Doctrove
Marais Erasmus
Ian Gould
Tony Hill
Daryl Harper
Rudi Koertzen
Asad Rauf
Simon Taufel
Rod Tucker


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Wednesday, 24 January 2018
South Africa v India, Johannesburg 10:00
Thursday, 01 February 2018
South Africa v India, Durban 13:00
Sunday, 04 February 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

India may be ranked No 1 in the ICC Test rankings, but after their series defeat to the Proteas, do they really deserve the mantle as world's best?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.