AB tops at ICC Awards

2010-10-06 15:39
AB de Villiers (File)
Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer

Cape Town – Fronted by AB de Villiers’ choice as ODI Player of the Year, the Proteas have featured pretty strongly at the 2010 cricket “Oscars”, the ICC Awards in Bangalore.

The batsman and sometimes wicketkeeper staved off strong competition on Wednesday from Indian legend Sachin Tendulkar and Australian pair Shane Watson and Ryan Harris to claim the laurel.

He was the only South African to crack the ODI team of the year, which had Ricky Ponting as captain and also featured Tendulkar, Watson, Mike Hussey, Paul Collingwood, MS Dhoni, Daniel Vettori, Stuart Broad, Doug Bollinger and Harris.

But the Proteas, who are in what might be termed a transitional phase in one-day cricket generally, came out in more forceful numbers for the Test team of the year.

It unsurprisingly featured all of Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis and Dale Steyn, with Indian captain Dhoni named as its leader.

Other players chosen were Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Graeme Swann, Tendulkar, Simon Katich, James Anderson and Bollinger.

Amla and Kallis have provided South Africa with their greatest stability in the key Nos 3 and 4 positions for some time, while Steyn continues his reputation as the planet’s most feared wicket-taking factor in Tests.

De Villiers earned his glowing ODI approval for a spectacular run during the voting period, which included 855 runs at an average of 71.25 which is exemplary in anyone’s language at the fast-paced, risk-taking format of the game.

He was quoted as saying on receipt of the award: “I’ve really enjoyed this season and it’s great to be named the ODI player of the year.
“It’s a World Cup season and a World Cup is something we would love to win and we rate our chances pretty highly.”

The selection panel for the world ODI team was chaired by Clive Lloyd and also included Matt Hayden, Angus Fraser, Duncan Fletcher and Ravi Shastri.

South African honours, in many respects, didn’t end there because Port Elizabeth-born all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate won the Associate player of the year award for his contributions to the Dutch cause.

AB poses with his ICC Award for the ODI Player of the Year (AP)

International Cricket Council Awards Winners:

Player of the Year: Sachin Tendulkar, India
Test Player: Virender Sehwag, India
ODI Player: AB de Villiers, South Africa
Emerging Player: Steven Finn, England
Women's Player: Shelley Nitschke, Australia
People's Choice: Tendulkar
Associate Player: Ryan ten Doeschate, Netherlands
Spirit of Cricket Award: New Zealand
Umpire: Aleem Dar, Pakistan
Twenty20 International Performance: Brendon McCullum, New Zealand

World Test XI: Virender Sehwag (India), Simon Katich (Australia), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India, captain), Graeme Swann (England), James Anderson (England), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Doug Bollinger (Australia)

World ODI XI: Sachin Tendulkar (India), Shane Watson (Australia), Michael Hussey (Australia), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Paul Collingwood (England), Ricky Ponting (Australia, captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Stuart Broad (England), Doug Bollinger (Australia), Ryan Harris (Australia)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.