AB in line for prestigious award

2015-05-11 17:30
AB de Villiers (AP)

Cape Town - Proteas star AB de Villiers has again been nominated for South Africa’s Cricketer of the Year award.

CSA’s annual awards evening will take place on June 3 at Gallagher Estate in Midrand, Johannesburg.

De Villiers will compete against team-mates Hashim Amla, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Faf du Plessis for the evening’s top honours.

The evening will form part of CSA Day, which will see a breakfast awards event in the morning, honouring those who excelled on the amateur front, as well as a golf day featuring key stakeholders, sponsors and Proteas players.

Judging for the CSA awards has been completed.

Commenting on the judging process, convener of the judging panel, Aslam Khota, highlighted the closeness in determining the nominees for the various categories.

“We really had a tough time in reaching the shortlisted nominees,” said Khota. “We were blessed with excellent and consistence performances on both the domestic and international front and this created healthy debate amongst the panel as we finalised the shortlist.”

The judging panel for this seasons awards comprised:

Aslam Khota (convener)

HD Ackerman

Victor Mpitsang

Neil Manthorp

Makhaya Ntini

Andrew Samson (statistician)

Selected list of awards and nominations:

One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Andrew Puttick (Cape Cobras), Dean Elgar (Titans), Robin Peterson (Cape Cobras)

RAM Slammer of the Season: Kieron Pollard (Cape Cobras), Eddie Leie (Highveld Lions), Richard Levi (Cape Cobras)

Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Hardus Viljoen (Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Stephen Cook (Highveld Lions), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras)

CSA Coach of the Season: Rob Walter (Titans), Geoffrey Toyana (Highveld Lions), Paul Adams (Cape Cobras)

Domestic Newcomer of the Season: Theunis de Bruyn (Titans), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), George Linde (Cape Cobras)

International T20 Cricketer of the Year: David Wiese, Faf du Plessis, Morne van Wyk

ODI Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, Morne Morkel, AB de Villiers, Imran Tahir

Test Cricketer of the Year: Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, Dale Steyn

Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekerk

SA Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn

* The Fans Cricketer of the Year and the Ram Delivery of the Season are both awards in which fans can participate. As of Monday (May 11), for the Fans Cricketer of the Year, fans can SMS the name of their player to 45732. For the Ram Delivery of the Season, fans can check out either CSA’s Facebook or YouTube pages and watch the insert. You can then vote for your favourite delivery by sending an SMS with the letter A, B or C to 45732. There will be a draw for two lucky fans to attend the CSA Awards and be part of the presentation.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.