3 Proteas crack nod for ICC's ODI team

2016-12-22 09:47

Cape Town - Three South Africans have been included in the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) ODI Team of the Year announced on Thursday.

They are wicketkeeper/batsman Quinton de Kock, batsman AB de Villiers, fast bowler Kagiso Rabada.

In addition, leg-spinner Imran Tahir was named 12th man.

De Villiers has been selected for the sixth time since 2010, while Kagiso Rabada, 21, and Quinton de Kock, 24, make their ICC team debuts.

This is Tahir's second appearance on the list.

It has been a case of third time lucky for India's Virat Kohli who has been named as captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

In addition to the three Proteas stars, the team also includes three Australians and Indians, and one each from England and the West Indies.

Australians Mitchell Starc and David Warner are the only two players to have been selected in both the Test and ODI sides in 2016.

Former Test stalwarts Rahul Dravid, Gary Kirsten and Kumar Sangakkara selected the sides based on players’ performances in the period from September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016.

ICC ODI Team of the Year for 2016 (in batting order) is:

1. David Warner (Australia)

2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa)  (wicketkeeper)

3. Rohit Sharma (India)

4. Virat Kohli (India) (captain)

5. AB de Villiers (South Africa)

6. Jos Buttler (England)

7. Mitchell Marsh (Australia)

8. Ravindra Jadeja (India)

9. Mitchell Starc (Australia)

10. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)

11. Sunil Narine (West Indies)

12th man: Imran Tahir (South Africa)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Tuesday, 17 December 2019
South Africa XI v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Friday, 20 December 2019
South Africa A v England XI, , Benoni 10:00
Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.