3 Proteas crack nod for ICC Test team

2018-01-18 10:20
Dean Elgar (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Three South Africans have been selected in the ICC’s Test Team of the Year for 2017.

Opening batsman Dean Elgar, wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock and fast bowler Kagiso Rabada have all been rewarded for their performances last year.

India’s Virat Kohli has been named captain of the team.

It's the first time Kohli has made the ICC Test team.

READ: AB, De Kock named in ICC ODI team

ICC Test Team of the Year 2017 (in batting order):

1. Dean Elgar (South Africa)
2. David Warner (Australia)
3. Virat Kohli (captain) (India)
4. Steve Smith (Australia)
5. Cheteshwar Pujara (India)
6. Ben Stokes (England)
7. Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper) (South Africa)
8. Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
9. Mitchell Starc (Australia)
10. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)
11. James Anderson (England)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00
Friday, 03 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Cape Town 10:30
Thursday, 16 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Port Elizabeth 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.