21 Proteas offered CSA contracts

2017-03-03 14:13
Haroon Lorgat (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Friday announced the Proteas men’s and the women’s squads to be awarded national contracts for the 2017/18 season.

The contracts will cover the period from April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018, which includes, inter-alia, the 2017 edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, the ICC Women’s World Cup and the men’s bilateral tours away to England and the home series against Bangladesh, India and Australia.

First time national contracts have been awarded to Stephen Cook, Keshav Maharaj, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo and Tabraiz Shamsi who all made their international debuts during the course of the past contract year.

“With a busy season ahead of us which also means heavier workloads on players, we decided to increase the number of men’s national contracts from 18 to 21,” commented CSA CEO, Haroon Lorgat.

“We also needed to recognise that certain players are specialists in certain formats of the game.”

The two young Proteas stars, Quinton de Kock and Kagiso Rabada, have for the first time been awarded multi-year contracts and thus join the elite player group.

“We are fortunate to have transitioned successfully and we now boast a strong squad made up of young and experienced world class stars,” added Lorgat.

CSA contracted Proteas players:

Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Stephen Cook (Highveld Lions), Quinton de Kock (Titans), AB de Villiers (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (Titans), Dean Elgar (Titans), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), David Miller (Knights), Morne Morkel (Titans), Chris Morris (Titans), Wayne Parnell (Cape Cobras), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras)

The board also approved the 14 contracted Proteas women’s players for 2017/18.

CSA contracted women Proteas players:

Dané van Niekerk (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (Border), Suné Luus (Northerns), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Trisha Chetty (Gauteng), Chloe Tryon (KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Lizelle Lee (North West), Matshipi Marcia Letsoalo (Northerns), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Masabata Klaas (Free State), Andrie Steyn (Western Province), Moseline Daniels (Boland)

“Congratulations to opening bat Laura Wolvaardt who is the only newcomer to our women’s squad and to both Sune Luus and Ayabonga Khaka who have been promoted to the top tier,” Lorgat concluded.     

Read more on:    csa  |  proteas  |  haroon lorgat  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Wednesday, 24 January 2018
South Africa v India, Johannesburg 10:00
Thursday, 01 February 2018
South Africa v India, Durban 13:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.