MiWay T20 Challenge

Warriors clinch thriller

2011-03-04 21:22
Warriors celebrate . (Gallo Images)
Durban - Mark Boucher hit a four off the last ball of the match to send the Chevrolet Warriors into the Standard Bank Pro20 final, as they beat the Nashua Dolphins by four wickets in the second leg of their Standard Bank Pro20 semifinal, at Sahara Stadium Kingsmead  on Friday.

Earlier, Rusty Theron and Makhaya Ntini shared four wickets as the Warriors restricted the Dolphins to 124 for seven.

The home side battled to come to terms with a wicket which offered up pace and bounce as the new ball pair of Theron and Ntini finished with figures of two for 28 and two for 23 respectively.

The duo was well supported by left-arm spinner Nicky Boje (4-0-21-1) while part time spinner Jon-Jon Smuts picked up one for four off his single over.

The defending champion Warriors also turned in a fine fielding performance which saw them saving runs in the field and putting extra pressure on the Dolphins’ running between the wickets.

As a consequence the home team battled to put a partnership of any substance together with the highest being just 25 runs for the third wicket between Loots Bosman (21) and Ahmed Amla (17).

But Bosman, after slapping a six off Ntini over midwicket, was bowled next ball by the same bowler while Theron had Amla caught at long-on.

Vaughn van Jaarsveld made a start as he scored 20 before he was caught at deep midwicket off Boje while Jon Kent top-scored for the Dolphins with 22 not out off 20 balls.


Nashua Dolphins - Imraan Khan (capt), Loots Bosman, Ahmed Amla, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, David Miller, Cameron Delport, Jon Kent, Daryn Smit (wk), Yasir Arafat, Kyle Abbott, Keshav Maharaj.

Chevrolet Warriors - Davy Jacobs (capt), Ashwell Prince, Jon-Jon Smuts, Craig Thyssen, Justin Kreusch, Mark Boucher (wk), Nicky Boje, Lyall Meyer, Garnett Kruger, Juan Theron, Makhaya Ntini.

Read more on:    warriors  |  dolphins

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will be crowned 2011 Pro20 champions?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.