Pakistan in SA

Proteas face tough task

2013-03-03 16:10
Mohammad Hafeez (AP)
Centurion - Pakistan skipper Mohammad Hafeez tore apart the South African bowlers when the two sides clashed in their only T20 encounter here at SuperSport Park on Saturday.

Live scorecard

Pakistan set a formidable target of 196 after winning the toss and opting to bat first.

After a dismal Test series, Hafeez saw the ball like a tennis ball and walloped some shots resembling tennis slams for his brilliant 86 off 51 balls. His innings, which included nine fours and four sixes, came to an unfortunate end when he smashed Rory Kleinveldt for another four but his back foot slid onto his stumps and dislodged his bails.

Pakistan started with aggression and had the run rate at 9.9 after the first ten overs.

The opening pair of Nasir Jamshed and Ahmed Shehzad set the pace with the latter smacking two sixes before he was run out on 46. He faced 25 deliveries and also hit six fours.

The wicket brought Hafeez to the crease but it had no effect on the team’s momentum.

Hafeez reached his half-century off 30 balls and achieved his highest T20 score - his previous being 71 against Zimbabwe, in Harare.

He also became the first Pakistan batsman to reach the milestone of 1 000 T20 runs.

Faf du Plessis tried all his bowlers and had to call on his ‘death’ bowlers midway through the innings.

Lonwabo Tsotsobe, who took eight for one off his first two overs, came back in the ninth over to try and peg down the batsmen but to no avail.

Once Hafeez departed, at 170 for four, in the 17th over, the visitors could not finish off the innings in quite the same fashion they had started and ended their innings on 195 for seven.

Kleinveldt picked up two wickets for 27 and Chris Morris two for 35.


South Africa:

Faf du Plessis (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, AB de Villiers (wicketkeeper), Rory Kleinveldt, David Miller, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Robin Peterson, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Kyle Abbott


Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Junaid Khan, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul

Umpires: Johan Cloete and Shaun George (both RSA). TV umpire: Adrian Holdstock (RSA).

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL).

Read more on:    pakistan in sa  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Thursday, 30 May 2019
England v South Africa, , London 11:30
Sunday, 02 June 2019
Bangladesh v South Africa, , London 11:30
Wednesday, 05 June 2019
India v South Africa, , Southampton 11:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Pakistan have levelled their five-match ODI series against the Proteas. How do you see the series panning out?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.