Pakistan easily defeat Sri Lanka in first Test

2015-06-21 12:41
Yasir Shah. (Ishara S. Kodikara, AFP)

Galle - Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the first Test in Galle on Sunday to take the lead in the three-match series.

Leg-spinner Yasir Shah grabbed a career-best seven for 76 to skittle Sri Lanka for a paltry 206 in their second innings just before tea on the fifth and final day.

Pakistan set a victory target of 90 and raced home in 11.2 overs with Mohammad Hafeez remaining unbeaten on 46 and Ahmed Shehzad on 43.

The second Test starts at the P. Sara Oval in Colombo on Thursday.

The final scoreboard:

Sri Lanka 1st innings: 300 (K. Silva 125, K. Sangakkara 50, Wahab Riaz 3-74, Zulfiqar Babar 3-64)

Pakistan 1st innings: 417 (Asad Shafiq 131, Sarfraz Ahmed 96, D. Prasad 3-91, D. Perera 4-122)

Sri Lanka 2nd innings (overnight 63-2):

K. Silva c Azhar b Wahab 5

D. Karunaratne st Sarfraz b Yasir 79

K. Sangakkara c Azhar b Yasir 18

D. Perera b Yasir 0

L. Thirimanne c Younis b Wahab 44

A. Mathews c Azhar b Yasir 5

D. Chandimal st Sarfraz b Yasir 38

K. Vithanage c Babar b Yasir 1

D. Prasad st Sarfraz b Babar 2

R. Herath c Hafeez b Yasir 1

N. Pradeep not out 0

Extras: (b5, lb1, w6, nb1) 13

Total (all out, 77.1 overs) 206

Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Silva), 2-63 (Sangakkara), 3-63 (Perera), 4-132 (Thirimanne), 5-144 (Mathews), 6-167 (Karunaratne), 7-175 (Vithanage), 8-200 (Prasad), 9-203 (Herath), 10-206 (Chandimal).

Bowling: Wahab 16-4-46-2 (w6), Junaid 7-1-23-0, Yasir 30.1-6-76-7 (nb1), Hafeez 10-3-24-0, Babar 14-4-34-1.

Pakistan 2nd innings:

Mohammad Hafeez not out 46

Ahmed Shehzad not out 43

Extras: (b3) 3

Total (for no loss, 11.2 overs) 92

Bowling: Herath 4.2-0-30-0, Prasad 2-1-10-0, Pradeep 2-0-18-0, Perera 3-0-31-0.

Pakistan won by 10 wickets, lead 1-0 in three-match series.

Toss: Pakistan

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG) and Paul Reiffel (AUS)

TV umpire: Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG).


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.