One Day Cup

Titans sail past Cobras

2012-11-07 22:50
Henry Davids (Gallo Images)
Benoni - The Titans defeated the Cape Cobras by four wickets in their One Day Cup match at Willowmoore Park on Wednesday evening.

Full scorecard

The home side, anchored by Henry Davids's 92-run contribution, chased down their 278-run target with more than three overs to spare for their first win of the competition.

The Titans' top order got them off to a solid start, with Heino Kuhn making 43 runs in a 110-run opening stand with Davids and Mangaliso Masehle adding 41.

However, a misunderstanding led to the soft dismissal of Davids as his century beckoned when he was run out by Yaseen Vallie.

The Cobras sensed their chance after the breakthrough but David Wiese ended any hopes of a Cobras fightback.

The middle-order batsman hit three sixes in a vital innings of 40, as he and Farhaan Behardien guided the Titans to victory.

Roelof van der Merwe, who ended the game with a six, and CJ de Villiers eventually got the Titans home, with the Cobras bowlers left with too much to do.

Beuran Hendricks, who dismantled the Titans middle order, led the visiting side's attack with a return of three for 68.

Earlier, the Cobras had built their innings around Andrew Puttick’s eighth one-day century after they won the toss and chose to bat.

Puttick shared 127 runs with Dane Vilas, who made 62, for a record second-wicket stand at Willowmoore Park.

The Titans' breakthrough came when spinner Van der Merwe bowled Vilas to end his menacing stand with Puttick.

Puttick was also removed by Van Der Merwe, the pick of the Titans bowlers with 2/45, when he was trapped leg-before for 106 runs from 129 balls in the 43rd over.

The Cobras stuttered slightly at the end of their innings, and their total was not enough as the Titans climbed to fourth in the standings.


Titans: Martin van Jaarsveld (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Henry Davids, CJ de Villiers, Paul Harris, Heino Kuhn (wicketkeeper), Ethy Mbhalati, Mangaliso Mosehle, Rowan Richards, Roelof van der Merwe, David Wiese.

Cape Cobras: Justin Ontong (captain), Alistair Gray, Beuran Hendricks, Justin Kemp, Charl Langeveldt, Richard Levi, Dane Piedt, Andrew Puttick, Yaseen Vallie, Stiaan van Zyl, Dane Vilas (wicketkeeper).

Read more on:    titans  |  cape cobras  |  one day cup  |  henry davids  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will you be backing in this year's Momentum One Day Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.