One Day Cup

Titans hammer Warriors

2014-10-26 18:41
Theunis de Bruyn. (Michael Sheehan, Gallo Images)

Port Elizabeth - Theunis de Bruyn scored a magical hundred and Marchant de Lange took four wickets as the Titans beat the Warriors by seven wickets in their domestic one-day cup match at St George's Park on Sunday.

De Bruyn produced an innings of absolute class in making a massive 152 not out from just 144 balls with 16 fours and three sixes.

His knock, coupled with 62 not out from Ferhaan Behardien, saw the Titans reach their target of 279 with all of 15 balls to spare.

The win lifted the Titans into fourth position while the Warriors remain in last position.

After five rounds, the teams will now take a break from the competition and contest the T20 Cup which starts on 2 November.

Warriors skipper Colin Ingram earlier won the toss and opted to bat for the first time in this season's campaign.

Last over

His openers Jon-Jon Smuts and Michael Price took full advantage and rattled up 106 runs for the first wicket. Titans left-arm Tabraiz Shamsi made the breakthrough having Smuts smartly caught at slip by David Wiese for a patient 44.

Ingram then joined Price in the middle and the pair continued the domination by adding 75 runs for the second wicket, before Price fell for a well-played 71, caught down the legside by Titans wicketkeeper Mangaliso Mosehle off the bowling of Marchant de Lange. He faced 100 balls and struck seven fours.

Ryan Bailey added a quick-fire 20 before becoming Shamsi's second victim, also caught by Wiese.

Christiaan Jonker was next man in and he set about brutally attacking the Titans bowlers. He clubbed 41 not out off only 19 deliveries while Ingram top scored in the end with 73 off 76. He fell to De Lange in the last over of the innings.

De Lange was the most successful of the Titans bowlers, finishing with figures of four for 54 in 10 overs.


Toss: Warriors

Warriors innings

J Smuts c Wiese b Shamsi 44

M Price c Mosehle b De Lange 71

C Ingram c Davids b De Lange 73

R Bailey c Wiese b Shamsi 20

C Jonker not out 41

S Harmer c Mosehle b De Lange 0

S Seyibokwe c Mosehle b De Lange 4

Extras: (lb 10, w 14, nb 1) 25

Total: (for six wickets) 278 -- 50 overs

Fall of wickets: 1-106, 2-181, 3-212, 4-273, 5-274, 6-278

Bowling: Van der Merwe 5-0-37-0 (1w), Mbhalati 8-1-57-0 (1nb, 2w), M de Lange 10-1-54-4 (3w), D Wiese 10-0-41-0 (2w), T Shamsi 10-0-52-2 (2w), F Berhardien 6-0-27-0, H Davids 1-1-0-0

Titans innings:

H Davids c sub (Ackermann) b Magala 24

D Elgar c Bailey b Birch 8

T de Bruyn not out 152

G van Buuren c Smuts b Jonker 25

F Behardien not out 62

Extras: (b1, lb3, w5) 9

Total: (for three wickets) 280 - 47.3 overs

Fall of wickets: 1-30, 2-44, 3-105

Bowling: Walters 7-1-41-0, Birch 9.3-0-61-1 (2w), Magala 9-0-56-1 (3w) S Harmer 7-0-42-0, C Jonker 8-0-38-1, J Smuts 7-0-38-0

Result: Titans won by seven wickets.

Read more on:    one-day cup  |  port elizabeth  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will you be backing in this year's Momentum One Day Cup?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.