ODI top spot up for grabs

2013-01-09 17:34
Hashim Amla (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - England will be aiming to carry their Test form into the ODI format and win their first series in India in 28 years, and, in so doing, cement their status as the No 1 ranked side on the ICC ODI Championship table.

England play India in a five-match series starting on Friday, January 11 in Rajkot, while South Africa will play New Zealand in a three-match series starting on January 19 in Paarl.

England currently lead second-ranked South Africa by a fraction of a point, but will take an outright lead on the championship table if they win their series, irrespective of the results of the South Africa v New Zealand and Australia v Sri Lanka series (starting on Friday in Melbourne).

However, England’s failure to win the series will give both India and South Africa opportunities to reclaim the top spot.

If India win all five matches of the series, they will jump two places to claim the top spot, while South Africa can only go top if they win all three matches against New Zealand and India win their series, but fail to complete a clean sweep.

The ODI and T20 Championship tables, unlike the Test Championship table, are updated after every match.

The side that tops the Championship table on the April 1 cut-off date collects a cheque of $175 000 along with a shield, while the team that finishes second receives a cheque of $75 000.

Upcoming fixtures:

Australia v Sri Lanka
January 11 – First ODI, Melbourne
January 13 – Second ODI, Adelaide
January 18 – Third ODI, Brisbane
January 20 – Fourth ODI, Sydney
January 23 – Fifth ODI, Hobart

India v England
January 11 – First ODI, Rajkot
January 15 – Second ODI, Kochi
January 19 – Third ODI, Ranchi
January 23 – Fourth ODI, Mohali
January 27 – Fifth ODI, Dharamsala

South Africa v New Zealand
January 19 – First ODI, Paarl
January 22 – Second ODI, Kimberley
January 25 – Third ODI, Potchefstroom

ICC ODI Championship

Under rank, country, rating

1. England 121
2. South Africa 121
3. India 117
4. Australia 113
5. Sri Lanka 110
6. Pakistan 107
7. West Indies 88
8. Bangladesh 78
9. New Zealand 72
10. Zimbabwe 50
11. Ireland 35
12. Netherlands 16
13. Kenya 11

Read more on:    proteas  |  icc  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.