NZ's Isaac new ICC president

2012-06-28 17:47

Kuala Lumpur - Alan Isaac, the former chairman of New Zealand Cricket, was elected as the new president of the International Cricket Council during the annual conference on Thursday.

Isaac replaced India's Sharad Pawar for a two-year term.

Former South Africa wicketkeeper David Richardson was also confirmed as the new ICC chief executive - replacing his countryman Haroon Lorgat.

Isaac's term will end in 2014 after which it was agreed that a new post of chairman will be created and the president's role will only be ceremonial.

Isaac said more work needs to be done "if we are to maintain the game's current healthy state."

"The challenges ahead are no less daunting than those we have faced in the last two years if we are to maintain the vibrancy and viability of the three formats of the sport," Isaac said.

The recent corruption cases in the 'gentleman's game' of cricket has seen at least four Pakistani and an English cricketer being banned for long periods.

The conference agreed that necessary amendments be made in the Articles of Association to create the post of chairman, remove the post of vice-president and vary the role and powers of the president - all with effect from the close of the 2014 annual conference.

Richardson, who played 42 tests for South Africa and served as ICC Cricket Manager for 10 years, said he had learnt much in the last four years and "I inherit game in great health with much to be optimistic about."

Russia and Hungary were awarded affiliate membership of ICC but Switzerland was removed as an affiliate member having been suspended at the 2011 annual conference for failing to comply with the ICC's membership criteria and having still not done so.