Mumbai seal playoff spot

2015-05-17 21:04

Cape Town - Mitchell McClenaghan has captured three wickets as the Mumbai Indians sealed their play-off place courtesy of a comfortable nine-wicket win over the Sunrisers Hyderabad in their Indian Premier League match at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday.

According to the website, left-arm quick McClenaghan was in superb form as he claimed 3-16 off four overs while left-arm spinner Jagadeesha Suchith nabbed 2-14 off three overs and paceman Lasith Malinga picked up 2-17 as Hyderabad were bowled out for a paltry 113.

Mumbai had little trouble is chasing down the total as they reached 114-1 after just 13.5 overs of their innings.

Parthiv Patel lashed 51 not out off 37 balls with nine fours as he and Lendl Simmons shared in a 106-run opening stand.

Simmons scored 48 off 44 deliveries with four fours and two sixes before he was dismissed by legspinner Karn Sharma.

The win meant that Mumbai finished in second place on the log after the league phase of the competition while Hyderabad miss out on the playoffs.

Mumbai enjoyed a fantastic start to the match when Malinga yorked Shikhar Dhawan (1) in the first over and McClenaghan dismissed David Warner (6), the tournament’s leading run-scorer, with the first ball of the second over as Hyderabad slipped to 7-2.

McClenaghan struck again when he had Eoin Morgan (9) caught at third man to leave the hosts on a rocky 23-3 inside six overs.

Moises Henriques (11) and Lokesh Rahul looked to have steadied the innings with a fourth-wicket stand of 28 but Henriques tried an ambitious stroke to Suchith and was stumped by keeper Patel.

Suchith struck with his next ball when Naman Ojha (0) chipped a delivery straight to Rohit Sharma at extra cover as Hyderabad crashed to 51-5.

Rahul had looked good at the crease as he compiled 25 off 24 balls but he was undone by the advent of offspinner Harbhajan Singh and was bowled off an inside edge.

Karn Sharma (15) and Ashish Reddy (17) dug in for a bit with a 23-run seventh-wicket stand but Reddy’s knock was cut short after he sliced a delivery from medium-pacer Kieron Pollard to Vinay Kumar at backward point.

Hyderabad were in complete free-fall and they collapsed to 86-8 after McClenaghan had Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0) caught at deep cover.

Malinga returned to the attack and accounted for Karn Sharma when the batsman hoisted a delivery to Suchith at deep midwicket.

Hyderabad’s plight would have been a lot worse if not for a 21-run stand for the last wicket with Dale Steyn smashing three fours as he scored 19 not out while Praveen Kumar (4) was run out off the last ball of the match.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: DA Warner (captain), S Dhawan, MC Henriques, EJG Morgan, NV Ojha (wicketkeeper), KL Rahul, A Ashish Reddy, KV Sharma, B Kumar, P Kumar, DW Steyn

Mumbai Indians: LMP Simmons, PA Patel (wicketkeeper), RG Sharma (captain), AT Rayudu, KA Pollard, HH Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, J Suchith, MJ McClenaghan, R Vinay Kumar, SL Malinga