Morgan, Wood given ECB central contracts

2015-09-23 13:15
Eoin Morgan (AFP)

London - Limited-overs captain Eoin Morgan and fast bowler Mark Wood have been granted England central contracts for 2015-16, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced on Wednesday.

Durham quick Wood, 25, has won a central contract for the first time after an impressive season in which he represented England in Test, one-day and Twenty20 formats.

ODI and T20 captain Morgan, 29, rejoins an 11-strong list that also features Test captain Alastair Cook, Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Joe Root and Ben Stokes.

"We congratulate Mark Wood on winning a central contract for the first time," said ECB director of cricket Andrew Strauss in a statement.

"This award reflects his excellent performances for England this summer and our expectation that he will have a role to play in all three formats of the international game over the next twelve months.

"Eoin Morgan's award reflects his status as captain of our limited overs teams and the wider importance we place on white-ball cricket as we prepare for a busy period of T20 and one-day international cricket over the next twelve months including the World T20 tournament in India next year."

Read more on:    ecb  |  eoin morgan  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.