Milne wins battle for CWC spot

2015-01-08 07:22
Adam Milne (AFP)

Wellington - Fast bowler Adam Milne won the battle for the final pace bowling spot in New Zealand's cricket World Cup squad named on Thursday.

Milne's selection in the final 15-man squad had been signalled during New Zealand's second test against Sri Lanka in Wellington when he joined the team for sessions with bowling coach Shane Bond.

With head coach Mike Hesson already determining the squad would need five pace bowlers, the 22-year-old Milne pipped Canterbury's Matt Henry for what many considered the final decision in the squad's composition.

Both bowlers were impressive during New Zealand's series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates last month but Milne's ability to deliver at more than 150 kph probably swung the decision in his favour.

Selectors sprung something of a surprise, however, by picking 35-year-old all-rounder Grant Elliott, who has not played for the one-day side for over a year, at the expense of Jimmy Neesham.

"Our batting unit has good depth and Grant's inclusion assures us strong cover in the middle order," Hesson said in a statement. "He brings a lot of experience and his record in New Zealand and Australia conditions is excellent."

Veteran Kyle Mills also made the cut after recovering sufficiently from a groin strain he sustained during the Pakistan series.

Test opener Tom Latham was also included in the squad, though he is expected to be used mostly in the middle order with captain Brendon McCullum already confirming he would open the batting during the February 14-March 29 tournament.

Latham will also be the backup wicketkeeper behind Luke Ronchi.

Former captain Daniel Vettori and Nathan McCullum will be the front line spinners, with top-order batsman Kane Williamson to provide a part-time option.

With Corey Anderson another recognised all-rounder in the squad, the team has impressive depth in their batting lineup with players like Vettori, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee and Mills all capable of scoring quick runs at the bottom of the order.

New Zealand open the tournament against Sri Lanka at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on Feb. 14.

Squad: Brendon McCullum (captain), Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne.

Read more on:    cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.