MiWay T20 Challenge unveiled

2012-02-13 14:26

Johannesburg - CSA on Monday announced MiWay Insurance Group as the title sponsor of the MiWay T20 Challenge at the official launch of South Africa’s most popular domestic competition.

CSA CEO Gerald Majola said he was delighted to welcome MiWay to the South African cricket family. “The initial sponsorship period is for this season only,” he commented, “but we will be aiming to sign a long-term deal with this particular product during the off-season.

“The MiWay T20 Challenge always attracts huge public interest and support and has a habit of going right down to the wire as the franchises battle for the prize of competing in the Nokia Champions’ League at the start of next season.

“All six of our franchises have qualified for the Champions’ League in its brief history which shows just how competitive the MiWay T20 Challenge is going to be. And there are still places up for grabs in the Proteas’ squad to be selected for the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka later this year.”

The quality of this year’s competition is reflected by the outstanding internationals on display such as Paul Collingwood (England), Brad Hogg (Australia) and Chris Gayle (West Indies). In addition those Proteas not involved in the Test series against New Zealand will be available for the majority of matches. This includes the likes of Albie Morkel, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Richard Levi, Johan Botha, Wayne Parnell and Rusty Theron.

There are also outstanding T20 specialists such as Loots Bosman, Roelof van der Merwe, Makhaya Ntini, Charl Langeveldt and Herschelle Gibbs.

Rene Otto commented: “We are very excited about this sponsorship opportunity - we think it’s an ideal match for MiWay as T20 offers a fun, unconventional approach to cricket, much like our brand does in the short-term insurance space.

“We love the challenge of taking on and challenging the status quo, and look forward to a thrilling T20 series!”


Cape Cobras:

Alistair Gray, Andrew Puttick, Charl Langeveldt, Dane Piedt, Dane Vilas, Francois Plaatjies, Herschelle Gibbs, Johann Louw, Justin Kemp, Mohammed Vallie,, Owais Shah, Qaasim Adams, Rory Kleinveldt, Stiaan van Zyl, Brad Hogg
CSA contracted players: Dale Steyn, Graeme Smith, Jacques Kallis, JP Duminy, Mark Boucher, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander
NZ Tour players: Justin Ontong, Richard Levi.


Kyle Abbott, Ahmed Amla, Cameron Delport, Cody Chetty, Dane Paterson, Daryn Smit, David Miller, Imraan Khan, Keshav Maharaj, Mathew Hulett, Mthokozisi Shezi, Robbie Frylinck, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Chris Gayle, 2nd overseas pro (still to be confirmed)
CSA contracted players: Hashim Amla, Imran Tahir, Loots Bosman


Morne van Wyk, Aubrey Swanepoel, Dean Elgar (subject to fitness), Dillon du Preez, Jandre Coetzee, Johannes van der Wath, Malusi Siboto, Michael Erlank, Obus Pienaar, Quinton Friend, Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw, Ryan Bailey, Shadley van Wyk, Werner Coetsee
CSA contracted player: Ryan McLaren

Highveld Lions: 

Aaron Phangiso, Chris Morris, Cliffe Deacon, Eddie Leie, Ethan O’Reilly, Gulam Bodi, Jean Symes, Jonathan Vandiar, Neil McKenzie, Quinton de Kock, Thami Tsolekile, Temba Bavuma, Zander de Bruyn, Dirk Nannes, Sohail Tanveer.
CSA contracted player: Alviro Petersen.

Nashua Titans: Martin van Jaarsveld, Alfonso Thomas, CJ de Villiers, David Wiese, Eden Links, Ethy Mbhalati, Farhaan Behardien, Hardus Viljoen, Heino Kuhn, Henry Davids, Mangaliso Mosehle, Paul Harris, Roelof van der Merwe, Rowan Richards, Shaun von Berg
CSA contracted players: AB de Villiers, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel
NZ Tour players: Faf du Plessis, Jacques Rudolph, Marchant de Lange


Andrew Birch, Arno Jacobs, Atti Dyili, Basheer Walters, Craig Thyssen, David White, Davy Jacobs, Gurshwin Rabie, Jon-Jon Smuts, Justin Kreusch, Kelly Smuts, Lyall Meyer, Makhaya Ntini, Nicky Boje, Simon Harmer
CSA contracted players: Ashwell Prince, Colin Ingram, Johan Botha, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Rusty Theron, Wayne Parnell