Maties slay Pukke in Potch

2015-02-05 21:30
Cricket (File)
Potchefstroom - The Maties have completely outplayed NWU-Pukke as they handed the hosts their first Varsity Cricket defeat.

The Stellenbosch side posted a competitive total of 168, and then proceeded to run through the home side, bowling them out for just 113 to win by 55 runs.

NWU-Pukke’s Jovaun van Wyngaardt sent Jean Bredenkamp back to the changreoom early, clean bowling the Maties opener in the second over.

That brought David Bedingham to the crease, and he hit a few boundaries before being run out at the start of the seventh over, he was followed by his skipper Dewald Botha who was bowled by Armandt Erasmus to leave Maties at 52/3.

However, opener Jean Marais was able to continue the superb form that saw him hit a century against Kovsies on Wednesday and climbed into the NWU-Pukke bowling attack.

He hit Henning du Plooy for three consecutive boundaries in the tenth over to take Maties’ total to 82/3 at the halfway stage.

Marais went to his half-century but then lost another partner when Leon le Roux was caught for 23 off the bowling of Wihan Lubbe. The Maties opener was eventually removed for 62 when he was run out in the 17th over.

Some lusty blows towards the end of the innings from Byron Boshoff saw Maties eventually post a competitive total of 168/7.

NWU-Pukke lost the hard-hitting Lubbe early on when he was run out in the third over, and he was followed a few balls later by Kagiso Rapulana to leave them on 13/2.

Andre Malan took charge for the hosts and found the boundary regularly with good support from Wimpie Viljoen as the pair took NWU-Pukke to 79/2 at the halfway stage, leaving them a chase of 90 runs in the last 10 overs.

After a 78-run partnership, Malan was finally out caught for 39 off the bowling of Eddie Schutte at the start of the 13th over.

Viljoen and NWU-Pukke skipper Rohan Kruger fell in the same over, as Schutte ripped the heart out of their batting line-up which really put the writing on the wall for the hosts.

Schutte was able to pick up one more wicket as the collapse continued, and Maties were able to wrap up a comfortable victory in the 18th over.

Brief scores:

Maties: 168/7 (J Marais 62, L Le Roux 23; J Van Wyngaardt 2/22, A Erasmus 2/32)

NWU-Pukke: 113 all out (A Malan 39, W Viljoen 26; E Schutte 4/30, N Botha 3/15)


NWU-Pukke: Edrich Lubbe, Rohan Kruger (captain), Andre Malan, Armandt Erasmus, Julian Soutter, Dewald Joubert, Bjorn Fortuin, Henning du Plooy, Jovaun van Wyngaardt, Wihan Lubbe, Kagiso Rapulana.

Maties: David Bedingham, Dewald Botha (captain), Niel Botha, Jean Bredenkamp, Justin Dill, Reinhardt Fortuin, Isma-eel Gafieldien, Leon le Roux, Jean Marais, Nicholas Scholtz, Edward Schutte.

Other results:

UCT-Ikeys v UWC: UWC won by six wickets:

Brief scores:

UCT-Ikeys: 149 all out (J Newby 77, A Whitelaw 18; R Cyster 3/19, J Smith 3/21)

UWC: 151/4 (G Banda 71, A Cupido 32; S Golding 2/24, S Cox 1/28)


UCT: Jack Newby, Sebastian Golding (captain), Richard Tissiman, Taariq Chiecktey, Jordan Leppan, Alex Whitelaw, Rowan Levieux, Stuart Cox, Brandon Tattam, Andrew Mills, Riaz Sader

UWC: Dean Mazhawidza, Jason Smith, Lizaad Williams, Imraan Hendricks, Reeve Cyster, Curtley Louw, Zain Webster, Ashley Cupido, George Banda, Lesiba Ngoepe, Jean Heunis

NMMU-Madibaz v UFS-Kovsies: NMMU won by 13 runs

Brief scores:

NMMU-Madibaz: 148/6 (D White 57, A Ferreira ; K Rafferty 2/28, F Cronje 2/35)

UFS-Kovsies: 140/8 (Du Plooy 47, Finlay 22; S Tait 3/18, B Dolley 1/18)


NMMU-Madibaz: David White, Edward Moore, Matthew Christensen, Lloyd Brown (captain), Jason Davidson, Tian Koekemoer, Aubrey Ferreira, Brad Dolley, Anrich Nortje, Stefan Tait, Solomzi Nqweni

UFS Kovsies: Andries Gous, Flippi Cronje, Leus Du Plooy, Keagan Rafferty, Ian Finlay, Dirk Bruwer, Corne Dry, Jacobus Dreyer, Sinebhongo Ntshona (captain), Samphiwa Ludidi, Anton Muller

UCT V UJ: UJ won by 24 runs

Brief scores:

UJ: 164/5 (H van Straaten 66*, Y Valli 37. S Cox 2/26, R Sader 1/25)

UCT: 147/6 (S Golding 46, R Tissiman 23*; Y Valli 3/7, I Moseki 1/12)


UCT: Jack Newby, Sebastian Golding (captain), Richard Tissiman, Taariq Chiecktey, Nhlakanipho Madwe, Jordan Leppan, Alex Whitelaw, Rowan Levieux, Stuart Cox, Andrew Mills, Riaz Sader.

UJ: Yaseen Valli, Lee Gruskin, Grant Roelofsen, Neels Bergh (captain), Harry Van Straaten, Jayden Broodryk, Umar Asad, Ndumiso Mvelase, Keith Dudgeon, Matthew Varner, Itumeleng Moseki.

Read more on:    varsity cricket  |  potchefstroom  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.