Lord's to host 2019 CWC final

2014-12-18 07:30
Lord's (File)

London - Lord's has been chosen to host the 2019 Cricket World Cup final and the 2017 Women's World Cup final, the England and Wales Cricket Board announced on Wednesday.

The ECB also revealed the 2019 semi-finals will be held at Old Trafford in Manchester and Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The Oval, Taunton, Chester-le-Street, Headingley, Trent Bridge, Cardiff, Bristol and the Rose Bowl are all also due to host World Cup games, with all the venues subject to International Cricket Council (ICC) approval.

Lord's, the north London venue regarded as the spiritual home of cricket, staged the first three World Cup finals in 1975, 1979 and 1983, and also the finale to the 1999 event.

The West Indies won the first two, while India were victorious in 1983 and Australia in 1999.

"The ICC Cricket World Cup attracts television audiences which have the potential to outstrip all other major international sporting events," ECB chairman Giles Clarke said.

"As chairman of the ICC's Financial and Commercial Affairs Committee I know that we are anticipating a global television audience of more than two billion for the final."

Meanwhile, Headingley and Old Trafford, Lord's, The Oval and Edgbaston will host the five Ashes Tests in 2019, with Trent Bridge and Cardiff both missing out after being named to host matches in 2015.

Cardiff misses out after being given the honour of hosting the opening Ashes Test in 2009 and 2015, while Trent Bridge won't have an Ashes contest for the first time since 2009.

Taunton has also been handed its first Twenty20 international as part of the ECB's Major Match Awards announcement, with England taking on South Africa at the home of Somerset in 2017.

Headingley has been handed a Test in 2017 when the West Indies are the tourists and they will also play Tests at Edgbaston and Lord's, with one-day internationals at Bristol, Old Trafford, The Oval, The Rose Bowl and Trent Bridge and a T20 international at Chester-le-Street.

South Africa also visit in 2017 and they will play Tests at Lord's, The Oval, Trent Bridge and Old Trafford with ODIs at Chester-le-Street, Headingley and Lord's.

Pakistan come calling in 2018 with Tests at Headingley and Lord's while India will also play five-day matches at Edgbaston, Lord's, The Oval, the Rose Bowl and Trent Bridge.

India will also face ODIs at Bristol, Headingley, Lord's, Old Trafford and Trent Bridge while England will play 50-over games against Australia at Cardiff, Chester-le-Street, Old Trafford, The Oval and Trent Bridge.

Australia will also be the visitors for a T20 at Edgbaston while India face England in the shortest format at Cardiff.

In 2019, as well as playing Australia, England face Pakistan in five ODIs at Bristol, Chester-le-Street, Headingley, The Oval and the Rose Bowl and a T20 at Cardiff.

The ICC Champions Trophy will be held in England in 2017 and Cardiff, The Oval and Edgbaston will host matches in a repeat of 2013, with The Oval staging the final.

England will also face the winners of the ICC Test Challenge at Lord's in 2019 with a four-match series between the 10th-ranked Test nation and winner of the ICC Intercontinental Cup deciding their opponents.

Read more on:    cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.