Kolkata see off Delhi

2015-05-07 22:16
Piyush Chawla (AFP)

Cape Town -  Piyush Chawla has snared four wickets as the Kolkata Knight Riders secured a 13-run win over the Delhi Daredevils in their Indian Premier League match at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Thursday.

Legspinner Chawla ended with 4-32 as Delhi, in reply to Kolkata’s 171-7, could only manage 158-6, reports the website.

Yusuf Pathan had struck an aggressive 42 off just 24 balls with three fours and three sixes for the hosts as the win moved Kolkata to third on the log, just one point behind the leg-leading Chennai Super Kings.

Delhi remain in seventh place on the log.

Manoj Tiwary (25) and Shreyas Iyer had provided Delhi with a good start to their run chase as the pair combined for an opening stand of 63 off 9.5 overs before Tiwary dragged a delivery from Chawla to Suryakumar Yadav at long-on.

Iyer, after striking 40 off 35 balls with three fours and two sixes, was bowled by chinaman bowler Brad Hogg with the score on 71.

Delhi continued to lose wickets at regular intervals and Kedhar Jadhav holed out to long-off as Chawla claimed his second wicket.

Chawla struck again three balls later when he had Yuvraj Singh (0) caught at deep midwicket by a running Andre Russell.

JP Duminy struck a few lusty blows in scoring 25 off 16 balls but he became Chawla’s fourth victim when the left-handed batsman was caught at deep square leg.

Angelo Mathews (22) and Saurabh Tiwary (24 not out) raised Delhi’s hopes of pulling off a victory by hammering 17 runs off the 17th over. But Russell bowled Mathews in the 19th over to end Delhi’s resistance.

Kolkata had struggled to score quickly on a pitch which offered up a lot of turn for the spinners but Pathan launched his late assault to boost the total before being dismissed in the penultimate over of the innings.

The leg-spinning duo of Amit Mishra (4-0-20-1) and Imran Tahir (4-0-46-2) both played their part with the ball for Delhi.

Kolkata made steady, if unspectacular, progress as they reached 63-2 after nine overs. Gautam Gambhir (12) was out relatively early, caught behind by keeper Kedar Jadhav off the bowling of left-arm seamer Zaheer Khan (1-34).

Robin Uthappa was dropped twice before scoring 32 off 31 balls with four fours and a six but he failed to capitalise on his good fortune and was trapped leg-before by Mishra.

The introduction of the spinners into the attack slowed Kolkata’s scoring and Manish Pandey (22) was the next man to depart when he was bowled by left-arm spinner Yuvraj (1-14).

Chawla was sent in at four as a pinch-hitter but the experiment produced mixed results as Chawla faced 19 balls while scoring 22 runs before he was caught at mid-on off the bowling of seamer Albie Morkel (1-25).

Chawla’s dismissal left Kolkata on 108-4 in the 15th over before legspinner Imran Tahir struck, in the 17th over, when he had the dangerous Russell (5) caught at long-on.

Tahir claimed his second wicket when he had Pathan caught at long-off before Johan Botha (17) ended the innings with a flourish as he struck four consecutive fours off the bowling of Zaheer.

Botha was run out off the last ball of the innings as he tried to steal a second run.


Kolkata Knight Riders: RV Uthappa (wicketkeeper), G Gambhir (captain),MK Pandey, SA Yadav, AD Russell, YK Pathan, PP Chawla, J Botha, GB Hogg, UT Yadav, SP Narine

Delhi Daredevils: SS Iyer, MK Tiwary, SS Tiwary, JP Duminy (captain), Yuvraj Singh, AD Mathews, JA Morkel, KM Jadhav (wicketkeeper), A Mishra, Imran Tahir, Z Khan


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.