Kallis in Hayden's World Cup XI

2014-12-19 16:00
Jacques Kallis
Cape Town - South Africa’s Jacques Kallis has been picked in Australian great Matthew Hayden's all-time greatest ever World Cup XI.

Hayden picked his team after the ICC launched ‘Your Greatest XI’, which will allow fans a unique chance to pick their Greatest All-Time Cricket World Cup XI from the previous 10 editions of the event.

The fans aren't the only ones who will be participating in this. Several cricketing legends across the world will pick the greats they think should make the Greatest XI, and these will be shared on the ICC website. 

Hayden, the former Australian opener, was the first one to do so. His pick included four Australians - Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath and Ricky Ponting, who is also the captain of the side.    

Apart from Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan, ODI cricket’s leading wicket-taker with 534 scalps, is the other spinner in the team, which has Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis, Pakistan’s famed new-ball duo, to accompany McGrath in the seam bowling department.

Gilchrist is Hayden's wicketkeeper, while Virender Sehwag is Gilchrist's opening partner. The rest of the batting wears a solid look, with Ponting, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara and Kallis, four of 10 batsmen who belong to the 10 000-run club in ODI cricket, making up the top/middle order.

Kallis is the only all-rounder in the team.

The 2015 Cricket World Cup, to be staged in Australia and New Zealand, runs from February 18-March 29.

How to pick:

The ICC database consists of over 100 of the greatest World Cup players of all-time. A photo and a short Pen Profile that describes their World Cup record and their memorable impact at the event is available for each player. The ICC also lists detailed World Cup statistics for each of the players.

The players fall under four different categories - batsmen, bowlers, all-rounders and wicketkeepers. Each XI you choose should feature at least two batsmen, one all-rounder, one wicketkeeper, and two bowlers.

You can pick your Greatest XI by clicking here.

Matthew Hayden’s All Time Greatest XI:

Adam Gilchrist (Australia) (wicketkeeper)

Virender Sehwag (India)

Ricky Ponting (Australia) (captain)

Sachin Tendulkar (India)

Brian Lara (West Indies)

Jacques Kallis (South Africa)

Shane Warne (Australia)

Wasim Akram (Pakistan)

Waqar Younis (Pakistan)

Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)

Glenn McGrath (Australia)


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.