Kallis, Boucher sign at Cobras

2011-07-06 18:15

Cape Town - The Cape Cobras on Wednesday announced the expected re-signing of veteran Proteas internationals and best friends, Jacques Kallis and Mark Boucher to their 2011/12 season playing squad.

Both players had defected to the Eastern Cape Warriors set-up ahead of the 2008/09 season after disputes with the Western Cape franchise management.

Kallis, 35, returns to his birth town and his favoured Newlands Stadium, having made his first-class debut for Western Province as a 18-year-old in the 1993/94 season.

The 34-year-old Boucher was born in East London, coming up in the Border system that merged with Eastern Province to form the Warriors when the franchise system was introduced in the 2004/05 season.

He was a part of the Cobras for the 2007-08 season before returning to the Warriors.

"Western Cape Cricket officials have today released their 2011/2012 squad for the season and have expressed their delight at re-signing Kallis and Boucher to the squad," read the statement from the Cape side.

The Cobras will be captained by all-rounder Justin Kemp and have a number of seasoned campaigners in former national captain Graeme Smith, Herschelle Gibbs, Charl Langeveldt and Justin Ontong.

The Pro20 champions also rewarded CSA Newcomer of the season Yaseen Vallie, Beuran Hendricks, Dane Piedt and Michael Rippon - after a good showing in the 20-over competition - with contracts.

Cape Cobras Squad for the 2011/12 season: Justin Kemp (Captain), Rory Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, Johann Louw, Justin Ontong, Vernon Philander, Francois Plaatjies, Andrew Puttick, Dane Vilas, Stiaan van Zyl, Herschelle Gibbs, Charl Langeveldt, JP Duminy, Robin Peterson, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher, Beuran Hendricks, Yaseen Vallie, Michael Rippon and Dane Piedt.


  • Anchorman - 2011-07-06 19:20

    this news is like a month old

      Herman - 2011-07-06 21:30

      It has only been made official today

  • Collitjies - 2011-07-07 10:55

    What a pity, they don't need an extra pair of handicaps to join forces with the likes of Gibbs. Roll on cricket in SA. Let us see who become the local cricket champions.

  • yagyah rabin - 2011-07-08 20:07

    1.Smith, 2.Levi, 3.Kallis, 4.Gibbs, 5.Duminy, 6.Kemp, 7.Boucher, 8.Peterson, 9.Steyn, 10.Kleinvelt, 11.Philander

  • pages:
  • 1