Ireland name CWC squad

2015-01-05 16:51
William Porterfield (AFP)

Dublin - Experienced campaigners William Porterfield and brothers Kevin and Niall O'Brien were on Monday named at the core of Ireland's squad for the Cricket World Cup.

The trio, along with Ed Joyce and John Mooney, will be playing at their third World Cup while the 15-man squad also includes six tournament debutants - Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Andrew McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Stuart Thompson, and Craig Young.

"It's fantastic to be leading Ireland in another global tournament," said captain Porterfield, one of a number of players in the squad who earns his living in the English county championship.

"We've produced some wonderful performances over the years in World Cups, and there's no reason why we can't claim further successes in Australia and New Zealand.

"While we may have lost the surprise factor over the years, we've certainly gained a lot of respect for our brand of cricket which has been pretty pleasing.

The Warwickshire batsman told the Irish Post: "There's a great mix as always in the squad, and the younger guys coming through are all hungry which keeps the more experienced players on their toes. Competition for places has been fierce and that's got to be good for Irish cricket."

Ireland kick off the campaign on February 16 against West Indies in Nelson before going on to face South Africa, Zimbabwe, India, Pakistan and the United Arab Emirates in their Pool B campaign.

Kevin O'Brien made history at the 2011 event in India when he hit the fastest-ever World Cup century against England in a stunning win in Bangalore.

Ireland, coached by former West Indies star Phil Simmons, are due to play four one-day internationals in the United Arab Emirates against fellow-qualifiers Afghanistan and Scotland, before flying out to Australia at the end of January.

The World Cup is being played in Australia and New Zealand from February 14 to March 29.

Ireland Cricket World Cup squad:

William Porterfield (captain), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young

Read more on:    cwc 2015  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.