India in SA

Special awards at Pro20 match

2011-01-07 09:56
Makhaya Ntini (File)

Johannesburg - President Jacob Zuma is to make special awards to honour four South Africans and Indians for outstanding services that have furthered the relationship between the two nations at the sell-out Pro20 match in Durban on Sunday, according to Cricket South Africa (CSA) chief executive Gerald Majola.

South Africa and India drew 1-1 in the three-match Test series which ended on Thursday. The only Twenty20 game of India's tour will honour Makhaya Ntini when the fast bowler plays his last international match.

Majola said the game would also be a major celebration of the 150th anniversary of the arrival of Indians in South Africa.

"President Zuma will be CSA's guest of honour at the match and he, in turn, will be honouring four people for outstanding services that have furthered the relationship between South Africa and India," Majola said.

"President Zuma will make the awards posthumously to the late Chief Albert Luthuli, former President of the African National Congress and South Africa's first Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, as well as to the late Dr Yusuf Dadoo, a former anti-apartheid struggle hero and chairperson of the SA Communist Party.

"Members of both families will accept the awards from President Zuma at the match.

"In this way, he will also honour two prominent Indian business leaders, Mr Anand Sharma, the Indian Minister of Commerce and Industry, and Mr M D Mallya, Chairman and Managing Director of the Bank of Baroda. Both will accept the awards at the match. "CSA will also make special awards to South African cricket icon, Makhaya Ntini, on this his swansong from international cricket, and to Indian batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar for his outstanding and ongoing contribution to the growth of cricket world-wide.

"CSA has also invited all the members of Clive Rice's Proteas squad that made that first historic tour to India in 1991. These players will be capped in a symbolic ceremony to be held on the field shortly before the start of the match.

"The match itself between South Africa and India will be played for the inaugural Krish Mackerdhuj Trophy, named after the late president of the United Cricket Board (now CSA) and a pioneer of that first tour to India."


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Jacques Kallis' decision to retire from Test cricket after the Boxing Day match against India is...

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.