India in SA

India left reeling

2011-01-21 20:06
Lonwabo Tsotsobe (File)
Port Elizabeth - India stumbled to 49 for three in the fourth MTN one-day international against South Africa at Axxess DSL St. George’s in Port Elizabeth on Friday.

Live Scoring

15th over: India have scored just 22 runs off the last five overs but Yuvraj tries his best to rectify matters by hoicking a Botha delivery over wide long-on for six.

WICKET - Yuvraj (12) is out thanks to a super catch from Graeme Smith. Yuvraj tries to paddle a delivery down to fine leg but only succeeds in sending a top-edge to where a leg slip would be. Smith gallops across from first slip before diving full length to complete a two-handed grab.

12th over: Thump! Steyn offers up a short ball and Yuvraj murders it past mid-on for four.

10th over: WICKET - Lopsy can do no wrong as he spears in a full delivery that beats Patel’s swish across the line to crash into the batsman’s front pad. Patel is out leg-before for 11 and Tsotsobe has his 11th wicket of the series.

6th over: A touch of luck for Kohli as is attempted drive to a Tsotsobe delivery results in an inside edge which just evades the leg stump before galloping off to the boundary for four.

5th over: Patel ends the Steyn over in style by slamming a ball wide of mid-off for four.

4th over: Top shot from the impressive Kohli as he cover drives Lopsy for four. Kohli picks up his second four as he hammers a half-volley through the covers.

3rd over: Bang! Parthiv Patel pulls a short ball from Steyn over square leg for four.

2nd over: WICKET - Local lad Lonwabo Tsotsobe is on for a bowl and as he has done so often recently he has a wicket as Sharma (1) slaps a wideish delivery straight to JP Duminy at backward point.

1st over: As has become the norm, Dale Steyn will open the bowling. Sharma is off the mark with a single to mid-off.

South Africa innings

The left-handed batsman ended not out on 71 off 72 balls, with his knock including two fours and a six, as he helped the hosts recover from a middle-order wobble that saw South Africa lose four wickets for just 12 runs to slump to 118 for five in the 23rd over.

But Duminy and Johan Botha set about repairing the damage thanks to a sixth-wicket stand of 70 with Botha, on his home-ground, weighing in with 44 before he was stumped off the bowling of left-arm spinner Yuvraj Singh.

Duminy showed wonderful composure as he reigned in his usual attacking game to simply work the ball around as he accumulated singles.

The 26-year-old’s approach worked so well that despite only striking two fours in reaching his fifty, he reached the landmark off a more than respectable 61 balls.

Robin Peterson (31) and Duminy built on the sixth-wicket stand by adding 54 runs for the seventh wicket before Peterson was run out after confusion between the two batsmen.

Confusion seemed to sum up South Africa’s running between the wickets for much of their innings as they suffered three run outs with all three occurring after poor decision making from the batsmen involved.

Hashim Amla, who scored a brisk 64 off 69 balls at the top of the order, was the first man to succumb to poor running when he attempted a suicidal second run to short fine leg and was comfortably run out at the keeper’s end after a throw from Virat Kohli.

Amla had made light of a slow wicket to slam eight fours during his innings while the wristy batsman also broke a significant ODI record.

The right-hander became the fastest player to 2000 ODI runs. He reached the landmark in 40 innings beating the previous record, jointly held by Pakistan’s Zaheer Abbas and England’s Kevin Pietersen, who reached the mark in 45 knocks.

Amla’s dismissal came in the middle of the South Africa collapse which also saw Morne van Wyk (15) caught at slip off Yuvraj while AB de Villiers (3) was caught behind off the same bowler.

Faf du Plessis (1) was also run out by Kohli, after attempting to take a single to short midwicket, before Duminy and Botha set about building a defendable total.

Yuvraj was the stand-out bowler with figures of three for 34 off eight overs.


South Africa - Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Morne van Wyk, AB de Villiers (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

India - Parthiv Patel, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt, wk), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Jacques Kallis' decision to retire from Test cricket after the Boxing Day match against India is...

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.