India in SA

India duo spark recovery

2011-01-03 18:24
Gautam Gambhir (Gallo Images)
Newlands -  A grimly determined Gautam Gambhir and a serene Sachin Tendulkar took India to 142 for two at stumps on the second day of the deciding third Test against South Africa on Monday.

After Jacques Kallis had struck a masterful 161 to lift the hosts to 362 all out, Gambhir survived three chances to reach 65 not out and Tendulkar showed all the experience of his 176 Tests to get to stumps on 49.

The pair shared a vital third-wicket stand of 114 in nearly three hours after India had slumped to 28 for two shortly before tea, leaving the match in the balance as top-ranked India seek their first series win in South Africa.

Tendulkar's only scare came on 24 when left-arm spinner Paul Harris thought he had trapped him lbw but umpire Simon Taufel gave the batsman the benefit of the doubt with replays showing the ball would have hit the outside of leg stump.

It was another top-class display of batsmanship by Test cricket's leading run-scorer who stroked five fours.

Gambhir and Tendulkar lifted India after Virender Sehwag (13) and Rahul Dravid (5) were dismissed inside the first 11 overs.

Gambhir edged a drive off left-arm seamer Lonwabo Tsotsobe to gully, where Alviro Petersen was unable to hold a difficult diving catch. But AB de Villiers reacted quickly, sliding to stop the ball, quickly getting back to his feet and throwing down the stumps as Dravid attempted a quick single.

India earlier struggled to kill off the South African innings as the last two wickets added 79 runs with Kallis well supported by tailenders Harris and Tsotsobe.

The touring side looked set to bowl the hosts out when Shanthakumaran Sreesanth struck twice in his first over with the new ball.

Sreesanth bowled Ashwell Prince for 47 with a magnificent ball that jagged back sharply and the next delivery nipped away to have Mark Boucher caught behind for a golden duck.

Sreesanth added the wicket of Morne Morkel, caught behind for eight edging a wild drive, in a marvellous spell of three for 29 that gave him his third five-wicket haul in Tests.

Zaheer Khan chipped in with the wicket of Dale Steyn, caught behind for a duck, but Harris hung around as 27 runs were added for the ninth wicket.

Kallis and Australian Ricky Ponting have scored 39 Test centuries, joint second on the all-time list behind Tendulkar who has 50.


South Africa, first innings (overnight 232-4)

A. Petersen c Dhoni b Sharma 21

G. Smith lbw b Khan 6

H. Amla c Pujara b Sreesanth 59

J. Kallis c Dhoni b Khan 161

A. de Villiers c Dhoni b Sreesanth 26

A. Prince b Sreesanth 47

M. Boucher c Dhoni b Sreesanth 0

D. Steyn c Pujara b Khan 0

M. Morkel c Dhoni b Sreesanth 8

P. Harris c Pujara b Sharma 7

L. Tsotsobe not out 8

Extras (b1, lb6, nb11, w1) 19

Total (112.5 overs) 362

Fall of wickets: 1-17 (Smith), 2-34 (Petersen), 3-106 (Amla), 4-164 (De Villiers), 5-262 (Prince), 6-262 (Boucher), 7-272 (Steyn), 8-283 (Morkel), 9-310 (Harris)

Bowling: Khan 29.5-6-89-3 (nb2), Sreesanth 29-0-114-5 (nb6, w1), Sharma 27-6-77-2 (nb3), Harbhajan Singh 27-3-75-0

India, first innings

G. Gambhir not out 65

V. Sehwag c Smith b Steyn 13

R. Dravid run out (De Villiers) 5

S. Tendulkar not out 49

Extras (lb8, nb1, w1) 10

Total (2 wkts, 50 overs) 142

Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Sehwag), 2-28 (Dravid)

Bowling: Steyn 13-4-31-1, Morkel 14-3-46-0, Tsotsobe 12-3-28-0, Harris 11-2-29-0

To bat: V. Laxman, C. Pujara, M. Dhoni, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, I. Sharma, S. Sreesanth

Match position: India trail by 220 runs with eight wickets remaining in the first innings.

Toss: India

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG), Simon Taufel (AUS)

TV umpire: Brian Jerling (RSA)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)


South Africa - Graeme Smith (capt), Alviro Petersen, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, Ashwell Prince, Mark Boucher (wk), Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Dale Steyn, Paul Harris, Morne Morkel.

India - Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Vangipurappu Laxman, Cheteshwar Pujara, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt, wk), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Jacques Kallis' decision to retire from Test cricket after the Boxing Day match against India is...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.