India in SA

Duminy levels series for SA

2011-01-21 23:03
JP Duminy (File)
Port Elizabeth - JP Duminy scored a mature half-century as South Africa beat India by 48 runs on the Duckworth/Lewis method to level the series in the fourth MTN one-day international at Axxess DSL St George’s on Friday.

Duminy compiled 71 not out off 72 balls to help South Africa post 265 for seven after a middle-order wobble saw the hosts lose four wickets for just 12 runs to slump to 118 for five.

In reply India reached 142 for six after 32.5 overs, and two rain delays, thanks mainly to 87 not out off 92 deliveries from Virat Kohli, before rain washed out the remainder of the visitors' innings as South Africa levelled the series 2-2.

Duminy was aided in his rehabilitation of the Proteas’ innings by Johan Botha as the pair put on 70 runs for the sixth-wicket.

Botha, on his home-ground, weighed in with 44 before he was stumped off the bowling of left-arm spinner Yuvraj Singh.

Duminy showed wonderful composure as he reigned in his usual attacking game to simply work the ball around as he accumulated singles.

The 26-year-old’s approach worked so well that despite only striking two fours in reaching his fifty, he reached the landmark off a more than respectable 61 balls.

Robin Peterson (31) and Duminy then added 54 runs for the seventh wicket before Peterson was run out after confusion between the two batsmen.

Confusion seemed to sum up South Africa’s running between the wickets for much of their innings as they suffered three run outs with all three occurring after poor decision making from the batsmen involved.

Hashim Amla, who scored a brisk 64 off 69 balls at the top of the order, after South Africa had won the toss and elected to bat, was the first man to succumb to poor running when he attempted a suicidal second run to short fine leg and was comfortably run out at the keeper’s end after a throw from Kohli.

Amla had made light of a slow wicket to slam eight fours during his innings as the wristy batsman became the fastest player to 2000 ODI runs.

He reached the landmark in 40 innings beating the previous record, jointly held by Pakistan’s Zaheer Abbas and England’s Kevin Pietersen, who reached the mark in 45 knocks.

Amla’s dismissal came in the middle of the South Africa collapse which also saw Morne van Wyk (15) caught at first slip off Yuvraj while AB de Villiers (three) was caught behind off the same bowler.

Faf du Plessis (one) was also run out by Kohli, after attempting to take a single to short midwicket, before Duminy and Botha set about building a defendable total.

Yuvraj was the stand-out bowler with figures of three for 34 off eight overs.

India’s reply did not get off to the best of starts when Rohit Sharma (one) was dismissed in the second over, caught at backward point off left-armer seamer Lonwabo Tsotsobe, before the same bowler trapped Parthiv Patel (11) leg-before.

Yuvraj (12) did not last long before he was splendidly caught at leg gully by a diving Graeme Smith, who had to run from first slip, off the bowling of off-spinner Botha.

Opening bat Kohli, who brought up his second fifty of the series off 67 balls, finally found some support in the form of Suresh Raina (20).

The duo put on 63 runs for the fourth-wicket before Raina was beaten by an arm ball from left-arm spinner Robin Peterson to be stumped.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (two) and Yusuf Pathan (two) then fell in quick succession as South Africa took control of the match.

Tsotsobe picked up two for 25 and Peterson two for 46 while paceman Morne Morkel bowled economically to pick up one for 13 off six overs.

The final match of the series is scheduled for SuperSport Park in Centurion on Sunday.


South Africa - Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Morne van Wyk, AB de Villiers (wk), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

India - Parthiv Patel, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt, wk), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel.


Hashim Amla run out (Kohli/Dhoni) 64

Graeme Smith c Harbhajan b Nehra 18

Morne van Wyk c Kohli b Yuvraj 15

AB de Villiers c Dhoni b Yuvraj 3

JP Duminy not out 71

Faf du Plessis run out (Kohli/Dhoni) 1

Johan Botha st Dhoni b Yuvraj 44

Robin Peterson run out (Pathan/Harbhajan) 31

Dale Steyn not out 4

Extras: (1b, 1lb, 10w, 2nb) 14

TOTAL: (for seven wickets) 265

Overs: 50.

Fall of wickets: 1-57, 2-106, 3-111, 4-115, 5-118, 6-188, 7-242.

Did not bat: Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Bowling: Zaheer Khan 9-1-55-0, Munaf Patel 8-1-49-0 (2nb), Ashish Nehra 6-0-27-1 (2w), Harbhajan Singh 10-0-61-0 (4w), Yuvraj Singh 8-0-34-3, Rohit Sharma 2-0-6-0, Suresh Raina 3-0-13-0, Yusuf Pathan 4-0-18-0. ^India=

Rohit Sharma c Duminy b Tsotsobe 1

Parthiv Patel lbw b Tsotsobe 11

Virat Kohli not out 87

Yuvraj Singh c Smith b Botha 12

Suresh Raina st De Villiers b Peterson 20

Mahendra Singh Dhoni c Du Plessis b Peterson 2

Yusuf Pathan c De Villiers b Morkel 2

Harbhajan Singh not out 3

Extras: (2lb, 2w) 4

TOTAL: (for six wickets) 142

Overs: 32.5.

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-32, 3-49, 4-112, 5-123, 6-128.

Did not bat: Munaf Patel, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra.

Bowling: Dale Steyn 4-0-15-0, Lonwabo Tsotsobe 6-1-25-2, Morne Morkel 6-1-13-1 (1w), Johan Botha 6.5-0-27-1, Robin Peterson 8-0-46-2, Faf du Plessis 1-0-5-0 (1w), JP Duminy 1-0-9-0.

Result: South Africa won by 48 runs D/L method.

Series: Five-match series level at 2-2.

Toss: South Africa.

Umpires: Johan Cloete, South Africa, and Simon Taufel, Australia.

TV umpire: Brian Jerling, South Africa. Match referee: Chris Broad, England.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Jacques Kallis' decision to retire from Test cricket after the Boxing Day match against India is...

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.