India win toss and field

2014-08-30 11:19
MS Dhoni (Gallo Images)

Nottingham - India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to field against England in the third one-day international at Trent Bridge on Saturday.

Both sides made one change each from the teams that played in India's 133-run win in the second ODI in Cardiff on Wednesday that gave the world champions a 1-0 lead in the five-match series following Monday's total washout in Bristol.

England dropped pace bowling all-rounder Chris Jordan, whose expensive return of none for 73 in Cardiff included 12 wides, and recalled fast bowler Steven Finn.

The 25-year-old Finn played the last of his 39 ODIs against Australia in Cardiff nearly a year ago.

However, he endured problems with his action and run-up after being selected for England's ill-fated Ashes tour of Australia where he did not play an international match.

Finn, though, has taken 59 wickets in 39 ODIs at under 28 apiece.

India made one enforced change after opener Rohit Sharma, who made 52 in Cardiff, was ruled out of the rest of the series after suffering a broken finger while fielding on Wednesday.

Ambati Rayudu was brought into the side, with Ajinjya Rahane promoted to open alongside Shikhar Dhawan.

The match was being played on a different pitch to the one that was penalised by the International Cricket Council following the drawn first Test between the sides in England's recent 3-1 win in a five-Test series.

A straw-coloured surface with a tinge of green appeared to be a good one on which to bat but the overcast conditions promised to assist India's pace bowlers.


England: Alastair Cook (captain), Alex Hales, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler (wkt), Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, James Tredwell, Steven Finn, James Anderson

India: Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (captain/wkt), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma

Umpires: Paul Reiffel (AUS) and Michael Gough (ENG)

TV umpire: Rob Bailey (ENG)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.