India pick new pace bowler

2013-12-31 14:18
Yuvraj Singh (AP)

New Delhi - India named rookie paceman Ishwar Pandey in both the Test and one-day squads for their tour of New Zealand Tuesday, but left out senior pros Yuvraj Singh and Pragyan Ojha.

Pandey, 24, was the highest wicket-taker in the Ranji Trophy first-class tournament in 2012-13, with 48 wickets at an average of 21.06 for the Madhya Pradesh state team.

The right-arm bowler has already picked up 30 scalps in eight matches this season, including a best of eight for 84 against Railways on his home ground in Indore.

Pandey will be part of a six-man pace attack, led by the veteran Zaheer Khan, for the two Test matches expected to be played on green, seaming wickets in New Zealand.

He replaces Ojha from the squad that lost the recent Test series in South Africa 1-0, even though the left-arm spinner did not play any of the two matches.

Cancer survivor Yuvraj, who was man of the tournament during India's victorious World Cup campaign in 2011, was omitted from the one-day squad after a string of poor performances.

The left-hander managed just 19 runs in four matches in the home series against Australia in October-November, and was dismissed for zero in the only innings he played in South Africa.

Yuvraj will be replaced by another new face, Stuart Binny, 29, an all-rounder like his 1983 World Cup winning father Roger Binny.

Fast bowler Varun Aaron, 24, returns to the one-day arena after being sidelined for two years due to a recurring back injury. He has played one Test and four one-dayers.

The five one-day internationals in New Zealand will be played between January 19 and Jan 31. This will be followed by two Tests in Auckland (February 6-10) and Wellington (February 14-18).

Test squad:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kolhi, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Ambati Rayudu, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, Ishwar Pandey.

One-day squad:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ambati Rayudu, Ishant Sharma, Ishwar Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Varun Aaron.

Read more on:    india  |  yuvraj singh  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.