India beat Bangladesh by 77 runs

2015-06-24 19:22
Shikhar Dhawan. (A.M. Ahad, AP)

Dhaka - Brisk half-centuries from India's Shikhar Dhawan and captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni helped set up a 77-run victory over Bangladesh in the third and final one-day international and stave off a 3-0 whitewash.

Opener Dhawan's 73-ball 75 and Dhoni's 69 off 77 balls laid the foundation for India's 317-6 in their 50 overs after Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and put the visitors in to bat with threat of rain in the evening.

The rain, however, did not arrive and Bangladesh, who had comfortably won the first two ODIs of the three-match series, were bundled out for 240 in 47 overs.

Meaningful contributions

Soumya Sarkar gave Bangladesh a rollicking start in their chase despite losing his opening partner Tamim Iqbal (five) in the second over and the hosts crossed 50 inside seven overs.

But paceman Dhawal Kulkarni, who also dismissed Tamim, pegged Bangladesh back by sending back the dangerous Sarkar after his 34-ball 40, that included five fours and two sixes.

Barring Tamim, most of Bangladesh's recognised batsmen got starts but none of them managed to convert them into meaningful contributions and got out trying to keep up with the required run rate.

Suresh Raina, whose 21-ball 38 ensured a 300-plus total for India, was the most successful bowler with his part-time off-spin and picked up 3-45 in his eight overs.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin picked up two wickets while giving away 35 runs in his full quota of 10 overs.

Steep chase

Earlier, India lost Rohit Sharma (29) after a decent start but managed to maintain a healthy run rate on the slow Mirpur surface through a 75-run stand for the second wicket between Dhawan and India's test captain Virat Kohli (25).

Left-handed Dhawan looked in sublime touch and hit 10 fours in his knock before he mistimed a pull shot against Mortaza straight to Nasir Hossain at mid-wicket where the fielder timed his jump perfectly to complete the catch over his head.

Dhoni then combined with Ambati Rayudu (44) for a fruitful stand of 93 for the fourth wicket before falling to Mortaza, caught well by Mustafizur Rahman in the deep.

Raina then provided the late assault with three fours and two sixes to help set up a steep chase for the hosts.

Mashrafe took three wickets but gave away 76 in his 10 overs while left-arm paceman Mustafizur picked up two more wickets to take his tally to 13 wickets in his debut series.

AP supplied the complete scoreboard:


Rohit Sharma c Litton b Mustafizur 29

Shikhar Dhawan c Nasir b Mortaza 75

Virat Kohli b Shakib 25

Mahendra Singh Dhoni c Mustafizur b Mortaza 69

Ambati Rayudu c Litton b Mortaza 44

Suresh Raina b Mustafizur 38

Stuart Binny not out 17

Axar Patel not out 10

Extras: (4b, 3lb, 3w) 10

TOTAL: (for 6 wickets) 317

Overs: 50.

Did not bat: Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni .

Fall of wickets: 1-39, 2-114, 3-158, 4-251, 5-268, 6-301.

Bowling: Mustafizur Rahman 10-0-57-2, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza 10-0-76-3 (2w), Arafat Sunny 6-0-42-0, Rubel Hossain 9-0-75-0 (1w), Nasir Hossain 6-0-27-0, Shakib Al Hasan 9-1-33-1.


Tamim Iqbal lbw Kulkarni 5

Soumya Sarkar c Ashwin b Kulkarni 40

Litton Das b Patel 34

Mushfiqur Rahim c Dhoni b Raina 24

Shakib Al Hasan c Kulkarni b Raina 20

Sabbir Rahman b Binny 43

Nasir Hossain c Rayudu b Ashwin 32

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza b Ashwin 0

Arafat Sunny not out 14

Rubel Hossain c Patel b Raina 2

Mustafizur Rahman lbw Rayudu 9

Extras: (3lb, 13w, 1nb) 17

TOTAL: (all out) 240

Overs: 47.

Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-62, 3-112, 4-118, 5-148, 6-197, 7-205, 8-216, 9-222, 10-240.

Bowling: Stuart Binny 6-0-41-1 (4w), Dhawal Kulkarni 8-0-34-2 (3w), Umesh Yadav 4-0-33-0 (5w), Ravichandran Ashwin 10-1-35-2, Axar Patel 9-1-44-1, Suresh Raina 8-0-45-3 (1w), Ambati Rayudu 2-1-5-1 (1nb).

Result: India won by 77 runs.

Series: Bangladesh won the three-match series 2-1.

Toss: Bangladesh.

Umpires: Rod Tucker, Australia, and Enamul Haque, Bangladesh.

TV umpire: Sharfuddoula, Bangladesh. Match referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.

Read more on:    india  |  bangladesh  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.