Sunrisers down Indians

2013-05-01 16:27
Sachin Tendulkar (Gallo Images)
Hyderabad - Sunrisers Hyderabad stayed in touch with the IPL leaders with an easy seven-wicket victory over the Mumbai Indians on a sweltering Wednesday afternoon in Hyderabad.

Full Scorecard: Hyderabad v Mumbai

According to SuperSport's website, tight bowling, particularly from Ishant Sharma, was followed by a commanding innings from Shikhar Dhawan to take their team over the line with a full two overs to spare.

Akshath Reddy was an early casualty as Hyderabad set off in search of a target of 130. With the pitch on the slow side, Reddy misread a slow ball from Mitchell Johnson.

Keen fielding from Mumbai was keeping them in the game, with Kieron Pollard outstanding. Harbhajan Singh conceded just a single in his opening over, but was unable to keep a lid on the batsmen in his later overs.

Pragyan Ojha gave nothing away, conceding just 18 and even Rohit Sharma had a tidy over when he took the ball, but the seamers were unable to maintain the pressure.

Dhawan shared partnerships of 37 with Kumar Sangakarra before the Sri Lankan patted one back to Harbhajan, and a match-deciding 74 off 56 balls with Hanuma Viharu.

Viharu was dismissed with just two needed for victory. He was dropped by Pollard off the previous ball, and there might be other consequences for Mumbai as Pollard left the field immediately with an injured finger.

Dhawan scored the winning run to end unbeaten on 73 off 55 balls with 9 fours and a six.

The Indians could never get going in their innings after choosing to bat first. A patient 38 from Dwayne Smith at the top of the order was the top score, while Ambati Rayudu hit a quick-fire unbeaten 34 off 27 balls.

Ishant Sharma was the star performer with the ball, finishing with 2-15, claiming the Man of the Match award. He was well supported by Karan Sharma, Dale Steyn and Amit Mishra, who all had economy rates of below seven to the over.

There is little change in the log, with Mumbai staying in fourth place and Hyderabad in fifth. There are now four teams locked on 12 points, with the Sunrisers the only one to have a negative net run rate.

SUNRISERS HYDERABAD: S Dhawan, PA Reddy, KC Sangakkara (capt & wk), GH Vihari, NLTC Perera, DJG Sammy, A Ashish Reddy, KV Sharma, A Mishra, DW Steyn, I Sharma

MUMBAI INDIANS: DR Smith, SR Tendulkar, KD Karthik (wk), RG Sharma (capt), KA Pollard, AT Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, MG Johnson, SL Malinga, DS Kulkarni, PP Ojha 

Read more on:    mumbai indians  |  ipl  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.