Mumbai topple hapless Delhi

2014-05-23 21:19
Harbhajan Singh (SuperSport)
Mumbai - Tremendous death bowling from Marchant de Lange and Jasprit Bumrah snuffed out any chance of a consolation victory for the Delhi Daredevils in their Indian Premier League match against the Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium on Friday as the home side triumphed by 15 runs.

Chasing 173 for victory, the hapless Daredevils were restricted to 158-4 to record their 11th defeat in 13 games. The result technically kept alive the Mumbai Indians’ hopes of a play-off place although they will need a series of other results to go their way.

Mike Hussey got the home side off to scorching start before a clatter of wickets saw them finish with a disappointing total of 172 all out after being asked to bat first. The veteran Australian opener blazed 56 from just 33 balls with seven fours and two sixes and shared an opening stand of 87 with West Indian Lendl Simmons (35 off 25) in just eight overs.

Daredevils bowlers were flogged mercilessly and when the score reached 120-2 after 12 overs, a total of 200+ still seemed assured despite Simmons slicing Imran Tahir to Wayne Parnell on the backward point boundary and Hussey being run out by centimetres courtesy of a powerful throw from Kedar Jadhav at point.

But Rohit Sharma’s dismissal for 30 from 21 balls, bowled by Jaydev Unadkat, precipitated a dramatic collapse which saw five wickets fall in just four overs and the last eight for the addition of only 32 runs.

Big hitting Kieron Pollard (11) edged a yorker from left armer Unadkat to ‘keeper Dinesh Karthik and the rest of the Mumbai batsmen displayed little patience or savvy as they gifted their wickets away. Tahir recovered from an early mauling to finish with 3-37 while J-P Duminy returned a tidy 4-0-31-0.

Captain Kevin Pietersen led the way with a typically flamboyant 44 from 31 balls at the top of the Daredevils order but was bowled playing his trademark switch-hit with the run chase shaping promisingly at 59-1 in the ninth over.

Dinesh Karthik (7) played a wholly unnecessary ramp shot against de Lange was also bowled leaving Duminy ploughing a lone furrow with an unbeaten 45 from 29 balls and four sixes. He might even have pulled it off in the closing overs but for a barrage of perfect yorkers from de Lange and fellow right armer Bumrah.

So forlorn has the tournament been for the Daredevils that bottom place was guaranteed even before their penultimate match. Pride-salvation is beyond them this year.

MUMBAI INDIANS: MEK Hussey, LMP Simmons, AT Rayudu, RG Sharma (capt), KA Pollard, AP Tare (wk), Harbhajan Singh, P Kumar, S Gopal, JJ Bumrah, M de Lange

DELHI DAREDEVILS: M Vijay, KP Pietersen (capt), KD Karthik (wk), JP Duminy, MK Tiwary, KM Jadhav, WD Parnell, S Nadeem, JD Unadkat, S Kaul, Imran Tahir

Read more on:    mumbai indians  |  delhi daredevils  |  ipl  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.