Mumbai cruise to IPL glory

2013-05-26 20:49
Kieron Pollard (Gallo Images)

Kolkata - Kieron Pollard struck a fifty as the Mumbai Indians claimed their first Indian Premier League title thanks to a 23-run hammering of the Chennai Super Kings in the final at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.

Pollards blasted his way to 60 not out off a mere 32 balls as Mumbai posted 148 for nine after winning the toss and electing to bat.

Lasith Malinga (2-22), Mitchell Johnson (2-19) and Harbhajan Singh (2-13) then all played their part as Chennai were held to a disappointing 125 for nine despite Mahendra Singh Dhoni ending on 63 not out off 45 deliveries.

Full Scorecard: Chennai v Mumbai

Pollard was the star attraction for Mumbai with the bat as smashed seven fours and three sixes during his innings.

Pollard was in typically belligerent mood and he struck the first ball that he faced for four and he ended the innings in fine style by striking two consecutive sixes off the bowling of Dwayne Bravo, the first of which saw Pollard bring up his third fifty of this year’s IPL.

Bravo ended as the tournament’s leading wicket taker thanks to his 4-42 while Albie Morkel finished with the impressive figures of 3-0-12-2 after Mumbai lost their first wicket in the first over of the match when seamer Mohit Sharma trapped Dwayne Smith (4) leg-before.

Morkel then claimed a wicket with his first ball when he bowled Aditya Tare (0) as Mumbai slipped to 8 for two.

Morkel struck again in his next over when he caught and bowled Rohit Sharma (2).

Morkel’s double-strike left Mumbai on a parlous 16 for three before Dinesh Karthik and Ambati Rayudu steadied the innings with a fourth-wicket stand of 36.

However, the right-handed Karthik, after scoring 21 off 26 balls, was undone when he dragged a delivery from paceman Chris Morris (1-25) back onto his stumps.

Rayudu and Kieron Pollard then combined for a fifth-wicket partnership of 48 off just 5.4 overs before Rayudu, after scoring 37 off 36 deliveries was bowled by Bravo to leave Mumbai on 100 for five in the 16th over.

Harbhajan Singh struck a few lusty blows in scoring 14 before he slashed a delivery from Bravo to Mike Hussey at deep point while Rishi Dhawan (3) was run out.

Bravo claimed his third wicket in the last over of the innings when he had Mitchell Johnson (1) caught behind by keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni before the bowler also had Lasith Malinga (0) caught behind.

Chennai endured a miserable start to their innings as the crashed to two for two in the first over of their reply when paceman Malinga bowled the in-form Michael Hussey (1) before having Suresh Raina (0) caught at square-leg.

Chennai’s woes increased when left-arm quick Johnson had Subramaniam Badrinath (0) caught behind by keeper Karthik as Chennai lurched to three for three inside two overs.

Bravo (15) was the next man to depart, caught at mid-on off the bowling of seamer Rishi Dhawan to leave Mumbai on 35 for four after six overs which soon became 36 for five when Ravindra Jadeja was caught at long-off off the bowling of off-spinner Harbhajan.

Chennai lost their third wicket in 10 balls when Murali Vijay (18) was dismissed by Johnson before Albie Morkel (10), after striking one six, was bowled by left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha as Chennai’s innings faded away despite Dhoni helping himself to three fours and five sixes during his entertaining innings.


CHENNAI SUPER KINGS: MEK Hussey, M Vijay, SK Raina, MS Dhoni (capt & wk), RA Jadeja, S Badrinath, DJ Bravo, JA Morkel, CH Morris, R Ashwin, MM Sharma

MUMBAI INDIANS: AP Tare, DR Smith, KD Karthik (wk), RG Sharma (capt), KA Pollard, AT Rayudu, Harbhajan Singh, R Dhawan, MG Johnson, SL Malinga, PP Ojha 


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.