Gayle smashes fastest ever ton

2013-04-23 15:00
Chris Gayle (AP)
Johannesburg - Chris Gayle's stunning 175 not out, off an unbelievable 66 balls, was more than the Pune Warriors could muster as a team, as the Royal Challengers Bangalore overwhelmed them by 130 runs in their IPL clash at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Tuesday, reports the supersport.com website.

Gayle, with an amazing 17 sixes and 13 fours, reached his first century of the 2013 season off just 30 balls - a new world record. He and Tillekeratne Dilshan (33) added 167 for the first wicket, as the Challengers romped to 263 for five.

The total was also the highest ever scored in a T20 match, and the Pune Warriors were always on a hiding to nothing in their run-chase.

VIDEO: Chris Gayle - fastest century ever!

Full scorecard

Gayle, who actually slowed in the middle of his innings to catch his breath, accelerated again in the latter stages, eclipsing his previous best of 128 in the process. He received handy support from Proteas ace AB de Villiers, who rattled up a nifty 31 off just eight balls, as the party began early in Bangaluru.

In reply, the Warriors got off to a terrible start, losing Robin Uthappa to the second ball of the innings, before international stars Aaron Finch (18), Luke Wright (7) and Yuvraj Singh (16) all departed inside the first six overs to plummet to 42 for 4.

Steve Smith (41) and Mitchell Marsh (25) brought some sort of respectability to the total, but it was a question of just how big the Bangalore victory would be.

Fittingly, it was Gayle who had the final say, as he was handed the final over of the match. He helped himself to two scalps, leaving the Pune Warriors well and truly stranded on 133 for nine.

The win propelled the Challengers back to the top of the log, while Gayle wrested the Orange Cap, for the leading run-getter, from his skipper Virat Kohli, on a night to remember for the mighty West Indian.

Highest T20 innings totals:

Bangalore 263/5 v Pune - Bangalore 2013
Sri Lanka 260/6 v Kenya - Johannesburg 2007
Gloucs 254/3 v Middlesex - Uxbridge 2011
Somerset 250/3 v Gloucs - Taunton 2006
Super Kings 246/5 v Royals - Chennai 2010
Nondescripts 245/4 v SL Air SC - Colombo 2005
K Dolphins 243/2 v L Eagles - Lahore 2010
Essex 242/3 v Sussex - Chelmsford 2008
South Africa 241/6 v England - Centurion 2009
Super Kings 240/5 v Kings XI - Mohali 2008

Highest individual T20 innings:

CH Gayle 175* (66)
BB McCullum 158* (73)
GR Napier 152* (58)
LP van der Westhuizen 145 (50)
CL White 141* (70)
DA Warner 135* (69)
CH Gayle 128* (62)
M Vijay 127 (56)
Q de Kock 126* (69)
CG Williams 125 (60)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.