Chennai eliminate Mumbai

2014-05-28 21:30
Suresh Raina (File)
Mumbai - The Chennai Super Kings’ bowlers have set up a seven-wicket victory over the Mumbai Indians in the IPL Eliminator at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on Wednesday to book a spot in the ‘semifinal’ against the Kings XI Punjab.

Chennai, led by Suresh Raina (54 not out), chased down Mumbai’s par-score of 173 for eight, ending on 176 for three with eight balls remaining, reports the supersport.com website.

Raina’s undefeated half-century put him in a class of his own as the left-handed batsman became the first player to score more than 400 runs in every single IPL season since its inception.

Raina smashed four boundaries and two maximums in a 32-ball knock, bringing up his 50 off just 29 balls. The top-order batsman was well supported by Australian right-hander David Hussey, who ended unbeaten on 40 from 29 balls, which included two fours and three sixes.

The pair shared in an unbeaten fourth-wicket stand of 89 from 57 balls, bringing up the 50-partnership in 35 balls.

The chase was given the perfect start by Dwayne Smith (24) and South Africa’s Faf du Plessis (35) with an opening stand of 60 from just 38 deliveries.

Such was the dominance upfront that Chennai ended the Power Play overs on 60 without loss, but the introduction of Harbhajan Singh (2-27) made a drastic change.

The off-break bowler claimed both Smith and Du Plessis in the space of three legal deliveries in the seventh over. Harbhajan had Smith caught by Kieron Pollard at long-on off the second ball of the over, then followed it up with two consecutive wides.

The South African T20 captain fell after two more singles were taken, trying an inside-out drive to be caught at long-off.

Brendon McCullum (14) lasted just 11 balls, not before smashing two maximums, but then danced down the track and was neatly stumped by Aditya Tare off the bowling of Pragyan Ojha (1-34).

Raina and Hussey then set about dismantling the Mumbai attack with only Praveen Kumar (0-27) and Harbhajan coming through unscathed. Corey Anderson conceded 35 runs in three overs while the right-arm medium pace of Jasprit Bumrah conceded 40 runs in his three overs.

Mumbai had earlier, after being sent in to bat, been restricted by a late flurry of wickets to a par-score of 173 for eight.

The hosts were looking comfortable at 143 for two during the 15th over, and were looking positive to reach the 200-run mark, but the dismissal of Lendl Simmons (67) started a major collapse.

Simmons, who faced 44 balls, smashed five boundaries and four sixes while sharing in an opening stand of 76 from 58 balls with Michael Hussey (39). Hussey was the first to depart, misjudging the bounce of a delivery from Ravindra Jadeja (2-31) and being clean bowled.

Anderson (20) smashed two sixes and one boundary in a 10-ball stay, but then top-edged a sweep from Ravichandran Ashwin (1-26) to be caught by Ishwar Pandey.

Simmons and Rohit Sharma (20) added 44 for the third wicket from 27 balls before the bottom fell out.

Simmons’s departure saw six wickets fall in 18 balls as Sharma, Pollard (14), Tare (nought), Ambati Rayudu (two) and Kumar (one) all fell in the final three overs.


Chennai Super Kings: DR Smith, BB McCullum, F du Plessis, SK Raina, DJ Hussey, MS Dhoni (captain & wicketkeeper), RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, MM Sharma, IC Pandey, A Nehra

Mumbai Indians: LMP Simmons, MEK Hussey, RG Sharma (capt), KA Pollard, AT Rayudu, CJ Anderson, AP Tare (wicketkeeper), Harbhajan Singh, P Kumar, PP Ojha, JJ Bumrah


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.