Challengers down Daredevils

2013-05-10 21:17
Virat Kohli (Gallo Images)
Delhi - Jaydev Unadkat claimed five wickets as the Royal Challengers Bangalore beat the Delhi Daredevils by four runs in their Pepsi Indian Premier League encounter at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi on Friday.

Virat Kohli scored 99 and shared in a 93-run fourth-wicket partnership with AB de Villiers, who was undefeated on 32, as the Royal Challengers totalled 183 for four after being sent into bat.

Delhi fell four runs short, ending on 179 for seven, thanks to 21-year-old left-arm seamer, Unadkat, who ended with career-best figures of 4-0-25-5.

Full Scorecard: Delhi v Bangalore

David Warner, who took took over the captaincy from Mahela Jayawardene, won the toss and sent Bangalore in to bat.

Irfan Pathan (4-0-24-1) dismissed Chris Gayle (4) at the end of the second over to leave the visitors on six for one.

A 26-run partnership between Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara (17) for the second wicket set the tone for their innings.

Kohli, when on nought, was caught behind off Morne Morkel (0-35) but survived as the right-arm fast bowler overstepped.

Kohli was then given another life by Virender Sehwag off the bowling of Siddarth Kaul in the seventh over. Kohli hit the ball just wide of Sehwag at mid-wicket, only for the ball to slip out of his hands.

After Kaul dismissed Pujara, Moises Henriques (26) and Kohli added 57 for the third wicket off 52 balls, with the Australian hitting three fours in his 22-ball knock.

Henriques was dismissed by Shahbaz Nadeem, who took at wonderful catch, low-down off his own bowling. The left-arm spinner bowled well to end with 1-23 from four overs.

De Villiers faced just 17 balls for his undefeated 32, with two fours and two sixes, while Kohli smashed 10 fours and four sixes in his 58-ball innings, being run out off the last ball of the innings, in trying to get his century.

Delhi made a good start with Sehwag (18) and Jayawardene (19) adding 25 for the first wicket in three overs.

Jayawardene hit four boundaries before playing onto his stumps, giving Unadkat his first wicket of the night.

The young Unmukt Chand survived an appeal from Vinay Kumar (1-43), as the right-handed batsman seemed to have edged the ball to De Villiers behind the stumps, but the appeal was turned down.

Chand and Sehwag then added 24 for the second wicket before Sehwag became Unadkat's second victim. Unadkat's first two overs cost just seven runs, while claiming two wickets.

Murali Kartik (4-0-21-0) created pressure on the Delhi batsmen, as the left-arm spinner dried up the runs, which caused Warner (4) to be bowled by his countryman, Henriques.

At 60 for three, the Daredevils seemed to be letting things slip, but a 58-run partnership for the fourth wicket between Chand and Ben Rohrer (32) breathed life back into the homeside's run chase.

However, with the departure of Rohrer, followed by Chand (41) just two overs later, the Daredevils seemed to have given up.

But with Morkel coming to the crease at the fall of Kedar Jadhav (eight), the Bangalore bench seemed to become very nervous.

Morkel (19) and Pathan smashed 44 runs off just 3.2 overs to leave the hosts needing 19 off the final over.

Morkel took five runs off the first two balls to leave Pathan needing 14 off the last four balls.

Pathan then hit Unadkat for four behind square on the legside, followed by a single. Morkel was then clean bowled by Unadkat, to give the youngster his first five-wicket haul in T20 cricket.

Umesh Yadav then smashed a four off the final delivery, but it was a bridge too far for the hosts, as Pathan remained undefeated on 23 off just 11 balls.

Dehli have now suffered their fifth defeat in six matches in Delhi, which effectively puts them out of the running for a playoff position.

RCB now move onto 16 points from 13 matches, but remain fourth behind the Mumbai Indians due to their inferior net run-rate.

DELHI DAREDEVILS: DPMD Jayawardene, V Sehwag, UBT Chand, DA Warner (capt), BJ Rohrer, KM Jadhav (wk), IK Pathan, M Morkel, UT Yadav, S Nadeem, S Kaul

ROYAL CHALLENGERS BANGALORE: CA Pujara, CH Gayle, V Kohli (capt), AB de Villiers (wk), MC Henriques, SS Tiwary, J Syed Mohammad, R Vinay Kumar, R Rampaul, M Kartik, JD Unadkat 


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.