ICC World Twenty20

Windies bowls first in WT20 final

2016-04-03 15:34
Darren Sammy (AFP)

Kolkata - West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss Sunday and decided to bowl first against England in the World Twenty20 final.

LIVE: West Indies v England - ICC World T20 Final

Both teams went in unchanged in a game that will see the winner become the first team to win a second World Twenty20 title.

In the semi-finals, England beat New Zealand by seven wickets at New Delhi and the West Indies got past pre-tournament favourite India by the same margin at Mumbai.

The West Indies and England played each other earlier in a Group 1 game in which opener Chris Gayle had clobbered a 48-ball 100 not out to power the West Indies to a six-wicket win.

England was the champion in 2010 while the West Indies won the tournament in 2012.

India (2007), Pakistan (2009) and Sri Lanka (2014) are the others to have won the tournament.



Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett.

West Indies

Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy (captain), Carlos Brathwaite, Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn.


Read more on:    england  |  west indies  |  icc world t20  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.