ICC World Twenty20

India restrict Australia after flying start

2016-03-27 18:07
Aaron Finch (AFP Photo)

Mohali - Opener Aaron Finch hit a quickfire 43 before India pegged back Australia to 160-6 in their do-or-die World Twenty20 group stage clash in Mohali on Sunday.

The 29-year-old shared 54 runs for the opening wicket with Usman Khawaja to give Australia a flying start after Steven Smith elected to bat at the Punjab Cricket Association ground.

Both Australia and India need to win to set up a semi-final encounter against the West Indies this week, with a loss on Sunday ending their hopes of World T20 glory.

Khawaja, enjoying a purple patch with the bat, smashed rookie fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah for four boundaries in the second over of the innings.

Finch matched his opening partner in aggression, carting off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin for two sixes on the trot as the Aussies raced to 50 runs inside just four overs.

The early onslaught stunned the Indian crowd, which only came to life when Ashish Nehra got rid of the dangerous Khawaja for 26 off 16 balls.

Ashwin gave India the second breakthrough by having David Warner stumped, and in the process he became the first Indian and 12th player in the world to grab 50 wickets in T20 internationals.

Part-time bowler Yuvraj Singh struck with his first ball in the tournament to get rid of Smith for two, before Hardik Pandya dismissed Finch to reduce Australia to 100-4.

Bumrah clipped the stumps of Glenn Maxwell who made 31 off 28 balls, capping a fine turnaround for the bowler after he was whacked for 17 runs in his first over.

Shane Watson, set to retire from international cricket at the end of Australia's campaign in the tournament, remained not out on 18, while wicketkeeper Peter Nevill took 10 runs from the final two balls.


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.