ICC World Twenty20

De Kock makes ICC World Twenty20 team

2016-04-04 14:21
Quinton de Kock (AP)

Cape Town - Quinton de Kock is the only South African to be included in the ICC’s World Twenty20 2016 team of the tournament.

The ICC on Monday announced the teams of the tournament for the men’s and women’s events, which finished at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.

The teams were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

Apart from De Kock, the men’s team - including 12th man - contained four players from England, two players each from India and the West Indies, and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand.

Sune Luus was also the only South African included in the women’s team, which comprised four players from New Zealand, two players each from Australia, England and the West Indies, and one from Pakistan.

The experts chose India’s Virat Kohli as captain of the men’s side, while Stafanie Taylor of the West Indies was named to lead the women’s line-up.

Both teams include the respective players of the tournament, Virat Kohli of India and Stafanie Taylor of the West Indies. The two players, for their achievements, won glittering trophies as well as ICC World Twenty20 Gold limited edition watches from ICC Timing Partner, Hublot.

Announcing the squads, ICC General Manager of Cricket, Geoff Allardice, said: “The experts had an extremely difficult task to select the men’s and women’s squads from around 400 cricketers who represented the 26 teams, thanks to outstanding performances by all the players at this hugely successful event.

“In the end, I believe the selectors have chosen two very well balanced sides which are capable of beating any opposition under any conditions.”

The two teams are (in batting order):


1. Jason Roy (England)

2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper)

3. Virat Kohli (India, captain)

4. Joe Root (England)

5. Jos Buttler (England)

6. Shane Watson (Australia)

7. Andre Russell (West Indies)

8. Mitchell Santner (New Zealand)

9. David Willey (England)

10. Samuel Badree (West Indies)

11. Ashish Nehra (India)

12th man: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)


1. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

2. Charlotte Edwards (England)

3. Meg Lanning (Australia)

4. Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain)

5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)

6. Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper)

7. Deandra Dottin (West Indies)

8. Megan Schutt (Australia)

9. Sune Luus (South Africa)

10. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)

11. Anya Shrubsole (England)

12th player: Anam Amin (Pakistan)

*The selection panel that chose ICC teams of the ICC World Twenty20 consisted of:

Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket, chairperson)

Ian Bishop (former West Indies fast bowler)

Nasser Hussain (former England captain)

Mel Jones (former Australia women’s batter)

Sanjay Manjrekar (former India batsman)

Lisa Sthalekar (former Australia women’s all-rounder)


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.