ICC World Twenty20

Black Caps opt to bat in World T20 opener

2016-03-15 16:02
ICC World Twenty20

Nagpur - New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat against India in the opening match of the World Twenty20 main draw in Nagpur on Tuesday.

The Kane Williamson-led Kiwis have left out Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Henry Nicholls and Mitchell McClenaghan.

Indian skipper MS Dhoni fielded an unchanged side that won the Asia Cup final against Bangladesh, as the red-hot favourites begin their quest to become the first team to win the World T20 title twice.



MS Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Grant Elliott, Ross Taylor, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner

Umpires: Kumar Dharamsena (SRI), Richard Illingworth (ENG)

TV umpire: Marais Eradmus (RSA)

Reserve umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    black caps  |  icc world twenty20  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.