ICC World Twenty20

Afghanistan bat first against SL

2016-03-17 16:20
ICC World Twenty20

Kolkata - Afghanistan captain Asghar Stanikzai won the toss and elected to bat in their opening match of the World T20 against Sri Lanka in Kolkata on Thursday.

Sri Lanka, the defending champions, brought in Shehan Jayasuriya in place of Sachithra Senanayake while Afghanistan brought in all rounder Mohammad Nabi for the Super 10 match.


Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Asghar Stanikzai (captain), Karim Sadiq, Gulbadin Naib, Samiullah Shenwari, Najibullah Zadran, Shafiqullah, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Hamid Hassan

Sri Lanka:

Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews (captain), Milinda Siriwardana, Shehan Jayasuriya, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Rangana Herath

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

TV Umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Reserve umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.