Tigers win toss, bowl v NZ

2012-09-21 11:56

Pallekele - Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and put New Zealand in to bat in the first Group D match of the ICC World Twenty20 on Friday.

New Zealand fast bowler Tim Southee, all-rounder Rob Nicol and Daniel Vettori all recovered from bad stomachs and were included in the playing XI.

Bangladesh will be relying on their three left-arm spinners - Shakib Al Hasan, Andur Razzak and Elias Sunny - to restrict New Zealand.

Former champion Pakistan is the third team in the group from which the top two will advance to the Super Eights.



Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (captain & wk), Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza, Elias Sunny, Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam

New Zealand:

Ross Taylor (captain), Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, Jacob Oram, James Franklin, Daniel Vettori, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills