ICC World Twenty20

Strong Ireland knock out UAE

2014-03-19 20:01
William Porterfield (AFP)

Sylhet - Ireland sent debutants United Arab Emirates crashing out of the World Twenty20 on Wednesday, winning the Group B match in Sylhet by the Duckwoth Lewis method.

The Irish, who opted to bowl after winning the toss, restricted their opponents to 123-6 in 20 overs before reaching 103-3 in 14.2 overs when two power failures and then rain stopped play.

Ireland were declared the winners by 21 runs using the Duckworth Lewis formula.

It was Ireland's second win on the trot.

A second successive defeat for UAE means they are eliminated from the tournament.

Ireland lost their opener Paul Stirling, who hit a brilliant 60 in his team's three-wicket win over Zimbabwe Monday, for just eight but quickly rallied.

Ed Joyce top scored with 43 while skipper William Porterfield made 33 not out.

Ireland's bowlers, led by spinner Paul Stirling (2-12) and paceman Kevin O'Brien (2-17) kept it tight, preventing any UAE batsmen from hitting a big innings despite a soild 35-run start in five overs.

Once opener Amjad Ali fell for 20, it all went wrong for the UAE who were competing in the World Twenty20 for the first time.

Shaiman Anwar topscored with a 28-ball 30 which included two sixes.

Elsewhere in Group B, Zimbabwe beat the Netherlands earlier Wednesday, putting them in contention for a place in the Super-10 stage.

The Dutch also have one win from two games and are still in with a chance of progressing.

The top two teams in both Group A and B will join the eight seeds in the next round, starting from March 21.

Brief Scores:

UAE: 123-6 in 20 overs (Shaiman Anwar 30; P. Stirling 2-12, K. O'Brien 2-17)

Ireland: 103-3 in 14.2 overs (E. Joyce 43, W. Porterfield 33 not out)

Result: Ireland win on Duckworth Lewis method.

Read more on:    icc  |  world twenty20  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.