Proteas win toss, bowl first

2012-09-20 15:41

Hambantota - Proteas captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bowl first in their Group C clash against Zimbabwe here on Thursday.

Live scorecard

South Africa were boosted by the inclusion of Albie Morkel after the 31-year-old all-rounder was passed fit to play following a lower-back spasm which needed a fitness test before the match.

Zimbabwe brought in batsman Stuart Matsikenyeri and spinner Ray Price in place of Chris Mpofu and Malcolm Waller from the line-up that lost the first match against Sri Lanka by 82 runs on Tuesday.

The top two teams from each of four groups qualify for the Super Eights rouns.


South Africa:

AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Johan Botha, JP Duminy, Jacques Kallis, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Morné Morkel, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn.


Brendan Taylor (captain), Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Elton Chigumbura, Craig Ervine, Graeme Cremer, Ray Price, Kyle Jarvis, Brian Vitori, Prosper Utseya.

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS) and Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Tv umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)


  • marcus.vermaak - 2012-09-20 15:52

    GO BOYS!!!

  • deon.louw.7505 - 2012-09-20 16:38

    This is a good start for the bowlers, 3 down, Go Proteas!

  • thabo.malose.31 - 2012-09-20 16:39

    Wrap it up boys! U're playing against yourselves here.

  • rushikesh.kale1 - 2012-09-20 16:51

    It looks like another warm up game!

  • Dalisu Brian Khanyile - 2012-09-20 17:16

    go boys

  • pages:
  • 1