ICC World Twenty20

Proteas fall at first hurdle

2014-03-22 15:09
Lasith Malinga (Gallo Images)
Chittagong - Sri Lanka produced a superb death bowling performance to beat the Blue Label Telecoms Proteas by five runs in the opening match in Pool A at the ICC World Twenty20 in Chittagong on Saturday.

AS IT HAPPENED: Proteas v Sri Lanka

There were two key moments – the first when Albie Morkel, having hit successive sixes, failed to put away a low full toss from Ajantha Mendis to be caught on the boundary in the 17th over. At that stage the Proteas needed 33 runs with six wickets in hand.

The Proteas went into the last three overs needing 29 runs and they stayed on target when David Miller and Farhaan Behardien took 10 runs off Lasith Malinga to reduce the target to a manageable 19 in two overs.

Nuwan Kulasekara then produced the second key moment when he conceded only four runs in the 19th over and took the wicket of Behardien.

It left the experienced Malinga to defend 15 in the last over with Miller having to retain the strike for the Proteas to have a chance of winning. Both Dale Steyn and Miller were run out as the Sri Lankans held their nerve as the target proved to be beyond the tail.

Sri Lankan opening batsman, Kusal Perera, was named man of the match for his quick-fire innings of 61 off 40 balls (6 fours and 3 sixes) that enabled his side to reach 51/2 in the six power play overs. This was slightly better than the Proteas’ 40/1.

In the end the Proteas did well to fight back from Sri Lanka’s start to restrict them to 165/7 thanks largely to Imran Tahir, who continued his love affair with the sub-continent to take 3/26 in his four overs.

Steyn recovered from his hamstring injury to take his place but Faf du Plessis did not with AB de Villiers taking over the captaincy.


Sri Lanka Innings: 165-7 in 20 overs (Kusal Perera 61, Angelo Mathews 43; Imran Tahir 3-26, Morne Morke 2-31, Dale Steyn 2-37)

South Africa Innings: 160-8 in 20 overs (JP Duminy 39, Quinton de Kock 25, AB de Villiers 24; Sachitra Senanayake 2-22, Angelo Mathews 1-21)


South Africa

1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 AB de Villiers (captain), 4 JP Duminy, 5 Farhaan Behardien 6 David Miller, 7 Albie Morkel, 8 Dale Steyn 9 Morné Morkel, 10 Lonwabo Tsotsobe, 11 Imran Tahir

Sri Lanka

1 Kusal Perera, 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Mahela Jayawardene, 4 Kumar Sangakkara (wk), 5 Dinesh Chandimal (captain), 6 Angelo Mathews, 7 Thisara Perera, 8 Nuwan Kulasekara, 9 Sachitra Senanayake, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Ajantha Mendis

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  proteas  |  icc world twenty20  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.