ICC World Twenty20

Netherlands ask Proteas to bat

2014-03-27 11:09
Faf du Plessis (AFP)
Chittagong - Netherlands captain Peter Borren won the toss and sent South Africa in to bat in their group one super-10 match in the World Twenty20 in Chittagong on Thursday.

LIVE UPDATES: SA v Netherlands

South Africa made one change from the side which beat New Zealand by two runs in their second match on Monday, bringing in Beuran Hendricks in place of paceman Morne Morkel.

The Netherlands, shot out for the lowest-ever Twenty20 international total of 39 against Sri Lanka on Monday, kept the same side.

Five teams are competing in each of the two groups in the super-10 stage, with top two teams from each group qualifying for the semis.

The final will be played in Dhaka on April 6.


South Africa
Faf du Plessis (captain), Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Beuran Hendricks, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Peter Borren (captain), Michael Swart, Stephan Myburgh, Wesley Barresi, Tom Copper, Logan van Beek, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Timm van der Gugten, Ahsan Malik, Pieter Seelaar.

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS) and Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

TV umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    proteas  |  world twenty20  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.