ICC World Twenty20

India ask Bangladesh to bat

2014-03-28 16:02
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (AFP)

Dhaka - Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and opted to bowl in the World Twenty20 group two Super-10 match against Bangladesh in Dhaka on Friday.

India remained unchanged from the side which beat the West Indies on Sunday.

A win will send India into the semi-finals from this group after title-holders the West Indies beat Australia by six wickets in an earlier match on Friday.

Bangladesh made two changes from the side which lost to the West Indies in their opening match on Tuesday, bringing back Nasir Hossain and Shamsur Rahman in place of Mominul Haque and Sabbir Rahman.

Two top teams from each of the two groups will advance to the semi-finals. The final will be played in Dhaka on April 6.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Ravichandran Ashwin, Suresh Raina, Mohammad Shami, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Al-Amin Hossain, Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza, Ziaur Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Sohag Gazi, Tamim Iqbal.

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI) and Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)


CSA pays tribute to Dik Abed

2018-01-19 18:01

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.