ICC Champions Trophy

Unchanged Proteas win toss, bat against Pakistan

2017-06-07 14:05
AB de Villiers (Getty Images)

Birmingham - South Africa captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in their day/night Champions Trophy match at Edgbaston on Wednesday.

The Proteas were unchanged from the side that beat Sri Lanka by 96 runs in their Group B opener at the Oval on Saturday.

Pakistan, however, made two changes following their humiliating 124-run defeat by arch-rivals and title-holders India at Edgbaston on Sunday in a match they had to win to stand a chance of reaching the semi-finals of a tournament featuring the world's top eight one-day international nations.

They gave an ODI debut to Fakhar Zaman, a 27-year-old left-handed batsman who has played three Twenty20 internationals.

Fakhar's inclusion, in place of the dropped Ahmed Shehzad, added variety to an otherwise all right-handed Pakistan top order.

Meanwhile, paceman Junaid Khan replaced Wahab Riaz, who suffered a tournament-ending ankle injury against India while falling in his delivery stride after being smashed for 87 runs in just 8.4 wicketless overs.

Junaid took 4-73 in a warm-up match against Bangladesh.

South Africa's side featured Pakistan-born leg-spinner Imran Tahir, who took 4-27 against Sri Lanka.



Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt/wkt), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan

South Africa

Quinton de Kock (wkt), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (capt), David Miller, JP Duminy, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), S Ravi (IND)

TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you see winning the eight-team 2017 ICC Champions Trophy tournament in England and Wales?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.